ICEINSPACE
Member Login
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Gibbous
90.4%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
3:43 am
Perth
1:43 am
Auckland
5:43 am
New York*
1:43 pm
Paris*
7:43 pm
GMT
5:43 pm




What's Hot
Latest News Items
Advertisement
WELCOME TO ICEINSPACE
THE LARGEST ONLINE ASTRONOMY COMMUNITY IN THE SOUTHERN HEMISPHERE

IceInSpace is a community website dedicated to promoting amateur astronomy in the southern hemisphere - including Australia, New Zealand, South America, Southern Africa and parts of Asia. We aim to help stargazers from around the world discover, discuss and enjoy the beauty of our night sky.

We hope you enjoy your stay at IceInSpace.

To inform,
educate 

and entertain.
IceInSpace Astronomy Forums
CURRENTLY SERVING 14,486 REGISTERED MEMBERS  JOIN US TODAY
  Image Of The Week
ISS Transit over the Moon

This incredible timely image of the International Space Station transiting the almost Full Moon was captured from Byron Bay on the 30th June. The photographer was lucky enough that this transit was scheduled while he was out anyway looking at the conjunction. Captured with a c9.25" telescope, 5 exposures stacked at 1/1650s / ISO 800 / f10. Sites like calsky can tell you when there will be a Transit of the ISS across the Moon or Sun from your location, but they're incredibly difficult to catch!
Search the IceInSpace website
ICEINSPACE NEWS
IceInSpace Calendar Competition 2016 Winners Announced!

After running the IceInSpace Calendar Competition during June and July 2015, over 250 images were submitted and after over 1200 votes by the extended IceInSpace Community, the winning images have now been chosen by you!

View the Winning Images!

Your IceInSpace Astronomy Calendar 2016 will be on sale in the IceInSpace Shop from late August/early September. So buy plenty of calendars for yourself, your family and friends, work colleagues etc :)

Congrats to all winners and thanks to the IceInSpace Community for your part in making this competition a success.

Many thanks to David at Astrovisuals for teaming up with me for another year and helping me to make this idea become a reality!


Voting for the IceInSpace Calendar Competition for 2016 is now open!

Voting for the IceInSpace Calendar Competition for 2016 is now open! Just by voting, you can win a prize pack valued at $100. Click here to vote!

So it's over to you! During May and June, we had some of IceInSpace's best astrophotographers submit their images. We had an amazing response, with 276 images submitted by 65 different photographers. The quality of images was absolutely stunning - we were blown away by the talent and will be pleased to feature ANY of those images in the 2016 calendar!

David (Astrovisuals) and I have now narrowed those images down to 3 in each category across 13 categories, and now it's up to you! You get to select your favourite images in each category, and the winning images will be used in the 2016 IceInSpace Astronomy Calendar.

So get voting, and please share the link with your friends via email, Facebook, Twitter and more.

http://iceinspace-calendar-2016.questionpro.com/

For more information, see the IceInSpace Calendar Competition Rules and Info Page.


Announcing the IceInSpace Calendar Competition for 2015!

It's on again! Last year's Astronomy Calendar Competition was a huge success, with over 250 entries, 63 fantastic photographers, over 1000 votes cast and over 2500 calendars sold (400 via IceInSpace!), so we're running the competition again for 2016.

The IceInSpace Astronomy Calendar for 2016 will again be made up of images captured by and chosen by the IceInSpace community!

Yes - you can submit your images for the chance to appear in the calendar, and you get to vote for the final images that will make up the calendar!

For more information about how to submit your images and how to vote, check out the article here:

IceInSpace Calendar Competition 2016

Image submission opens on the 5th May, so start preparing and submit your images!


Advertisement
AS&T November/December 2014
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
ZWO Cameras at Optics Central
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Astronomy Alive
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement
ICEINSPACE
AUSTRALIAN AMATEUR ASTRONOMY
Copyright © 2004-2015 ICEINSPACE.
All rights reserved.