ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON New Moon
0.6%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
9:22 pm
Perth
7:22 pm
Auckland
11:22 pm
New York*
7:22 am
Paris*
1:22 pm
GMT
11:22 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > Images > Solar System

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 01-01-2012, 11:49 AM
tornado33
Registered User

tornado33 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Posts: 3,836
Deep closer view of Comet Lovejoy 1 jan 2011

Hi all
Saw the new year in by imaging Lovejoy, this time from my backyard in Newcastle, and with a modded camera.

9x5 mins ISO200. UV/IR filter,50mm f1.8@ f3.5, modded 350D, started imaging as soon as it rose above the garage and kept going till daylight started intruding. Strong gradients had to be removed.
Full res. version here
Had to crop out parts of the garage and house from image.

Its much fainter than it was yet tail still quite long and straight, an unusual comet for sure. I note theres no sign of a central condensation around the nucleus area. It all seems quite diffuse and faint.
Scott
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (lovejoy9x5minsiso200uvir50mmf3.5mod350dijan12smst.jpg)
187.0 KB85 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-01-2012, 11:57 AM
renormalised's Avatar
renormalised (Carl)
No More Infinities

renormalised is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Townsville
Posts: 9,687
Great shot, Scott

Yep, it's pretty ghost like!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-01-2012, 05:05 PM
naskies's Avatar
naskies (Dave)
Registered User

naskies is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,865
Beautiful You've captured the star field background quite well.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-01-2012, 05:11 PM
Gerry
Registered User

Gerry is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Coolangatta, Australia
Posts: 15
That's super cool
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-2012, 05:35 PM
venus's Avatar
venus (Lydia)
AstroNan

venus is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 682
Very interesting capture!
I'm amazed that you could catch that good a quality image from your place with all the light pollution around
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-01-2012, 10:51 PM
CometGuy's Avatar
CometGuy
Registered User

CometGuy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 942
Another stunner Scott!

Terry
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2012, 07:28 AM
Rodstar's Avatar
Rodstar
and The Mary Rose

Rodstar is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Central Coast, NSW
Posts: 2,643
Hi Scott, not a bad backdrop......indeed jawdrop......quite a few stars in that image!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-01-2012, 10:39 AM
Lester's Avatar
Lester
Registered User

Lester is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: E.P. S.A.
Posts: 4,963
Wonderful view Scott, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-01-2012, 11:32 AM
tornado33
Registered User

tornado33 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Posts: 3,836
Thanks all. These mornings of comet imaging have been good experience in image processing with strong gradients, never before have I attempted deep imaging of objects close to the horizon.
Scott
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:22 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement