ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON New Moon
0.6%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
9:22 pm
Perth
7:22 pm
Auckland
11:22 pm
New York*
7:22 am
Paris*
1:22 pm
GMT
11:22 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > Images > Solar System

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 24-12-2011, 05:18 PM
midnight's Avatar
midnight (Darrin)
Always on the road

midnight is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Australind, WA
Posts: 891
Lovejoy from the West

Yet another one but hey, it's an awesome sight when you see it for the 1st time.
Comet C/2011 W3 Lovejoy.

1st Shot is a single frame from below. Bit of a purple theme going on there.

2nd shot is :
7D 35mmF1.4L at F3.5 ISO 1600, 15 seconds
7 frames taken and stacked in DSS
1 Frame taken to layover the terrestrial section at the far bottom as DSS obviously adjusts each frame and eventually blurs any stationary objects.
PS to adjust levels and curves and saturation.

All taken from the Leschenault Peninsula Nature Reserve north of Bunbury looking back over Leschenault (where I got eaten alive by blood thirsty, famined mozzies)

It's a magnificant Christmas gift to us astro guys and girls.

Merry Christmas to all!!

Darrin...
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (IMG_0574.jpg)
177.8 KB138 views
Click for full-size image (Lovejoy-Stackof7.jpg)
102.6 KB156 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-12-2011, 05:55 PM
renormalised's Avatar
renormalised (Carl)
No More Infinities

renormalised is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Townsville
Posts: 9,687
Very nice shots there, Darrin. You've got some funky colours going there!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-12-2011, 05:57 PM
anthony.tony's Avatar
anthony.tony
Registered User

anthony.tony is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canowindra NSW Australia
Posts: 1,004
Nice work -wish I Owned a fast lens- Tony
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-12-2011, 08:37 PM
bartman's Avatar
bartman (Bart)
1 of 7 of 9

bartman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,968
Great shots Darrin.
The colours are great!
Like the second one the best!
Cheers
Bartman
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-12-2011, 11:08 PM
mswhin63's Avatar
mswhin63 (Malcolm)
Registered User

mswhin63 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Warnbro, Western Australia
Posts: 3,297
Nice stuff Darrin, clear skies
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24-12-2011, 11:39 PM
rogerg's Avatar
rogerg (Roger)
Registered User

rogerg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,526
Very nice shots, I like the colours and clarity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25-12-2011, 10:55 AM
astronobob's Avatar
astronobob (Bob)
Casual Cosmos Capturer

astronobob is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Gold Coast SE QLD
Posts: 3,369
Real good scale there Darrin, classy colors and check out that forked tail, A Beaut Capture !
'Ave A 'Appy !
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25-12-2011, 11:29 AM
Quark's Avatar
Quark (Trevor)
Registered User

Quark is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Broken Hill NSW Australia
Posts: 3,991
Nice work Darrin, a superb sight.

Cheers
Trevor

Last edited by Quark; 25-12-2011 at 11:30 AM. Reason: error
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25-12-2011, 06:16 PM
midnight's Avatar
midnight (Darrin)
Always on the road

midnight is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Australind, WA
Posts: 891
Thanks for all of your comments.

The end of the tail sorta reminded me of the end of a prawn

Good luck if you're heading out again!!

Darrin...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26-12-2011, 03:57 PM
naskies's Avatar
naskies (Dave)
Registered User

naskies is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,865
Spectacular - these would look amazing as large canvas prints. You've done a really great job with the tail definition on the second one (bluer).
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 26-12-2011, 05:10 PM
renormalised's Avatar
renormalised (Carl)
No More Infinities

renormalised is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Townsville
Posts: 9,687
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnight View Post

The end of the tail sorta reminded me of the end of a prawn
A Comet Prawn....little too big to slap down on the barbie!!!!

Unless it's 865000 miles across
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:22 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement