Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Software and Computers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 27-09-2007, 07:23 AM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,723
Article: Adding a Webcam to your Telescope

Hi all

David Childs (uspl) has written a how-to article to Adding a Webcam to your Telescope.

You can read the article from the IceInSpace Projects & Articles page, or directly by clicking on the link below:

Adding a Webcam to your Telescope

Thanks to David for writing the article. If you'd like to submit an article or review, please Contact Me.

Last edited by iceman; 01-10-2007 at 06:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2007, 06:52 AM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,723
Article uploaded.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-10-2007, 03:52 PM
programmer's Avatar
programmer
Computer tragic

programmer is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cheltenham, Victoria
Posts: 494
Thanks for this article. Might even be simple enough for me to follow! I'll use this in conjunction with Mike's older article on astrophotography with a dob. Now to eBay for a resonable CCD webcam...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-10-2007, 04:24 PM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,723
I'd suggest getting a ToUcam - either the 840k or the 900nc (preferred). They're well suited for astro use.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-10-2007, 04:28 PM
erick's Avatar
erick (Eric)
Starcatcher

erick is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gerringong
Posts: 8,496
Programmer, do a bit of searching for threads on the site. Most webcams won't do the job, it would seem. It seems you want a CCD, not a CMOS and you need to try and get sufficient sensitivity - the "lux" figure, which isn't always quoted. I cannot remember the specification you need, but it's in the threads.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-10-2007, 04:28 PM
ballaratdragons's Avatar
ballaratdragons (Ken)
The 'DRAGON MAN'

ballaratdragons is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In the Dark at Snake Valley, Victoria
Posts: 14,412
Programmer, search for a Toucam. They are CCD's. Others might be CMOS, or often don't have the Lux rating for Astro work. Anything higher than <1Lux won't work.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-10-2007, 04:36 PM
programmer's Avatar
programmer
Computer tragic

programmer is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cheltenham, Victoria
Posts: 494
Thanks for the tips. Will look for a Toucam as first preference. I might be getting ahead of myself (and abilities), but cloudy conditions give you far too much time to think about these things!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23-10-2007, 10:38 PM
programmer's Avatar
programmer
Computer tragic

programmer is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cheltenham, Victoria
Posts: 494
Is $85 (plus $15 postage) a good price for a new ToUcam Pro II 840K? Plus about $25 (delivered) for a 1.25" adapter? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23-10-2007, 10:47 PM
ballaratdragons's Avatar
ballaratdragons (Ken)
The 'DRAGON MAN'

ballaratdragons is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In the Dark at Snake Valley, Victoria
Posts: 14,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by programmer View Post
Is $85 (plus $15 postage) a good price for a new ToUcam Pro II 840K? Plus about $25 (delivered) for a 1.25" adapter? Thanks.
Jump on it if it is not a rip-off ad. That's a good price for a new 840k Pro II.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23-10-2007, 10:48 PM
mill's Avatar
mill (Martin)
sword collector

mill is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mount Evelyn
Posts: 2,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by programmer View Post
Is $85 (plus $15 postage) a good price for a new ToUcam Pro II 840K? Plus about $25 (delivered) for a 1.25" adapter? Thanks.
That is fairly cheap for a toucam with adapter.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 23-10-2007, 10:54 PM
programmer's Avatar
programmer
Computer tragic

programmer is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cheltenham, Victoria
Posts: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceman View Post
I'd suggest getting a ToUcam - either the 840k or the 900nc (preferred). They're well suited for astro use.
Just saw one of these (900nc) sold on eBay for $US30 last week . Is the difference going up to the 900nc going to be noticed by a beginner such as myself, or will I later regret not getting one? I'll only be imaging moon/planets. I read the CCD in this model is the same as in the 840K anyway, so what are the improvements? There aren't too may around for sale that I can see, either. Thanks.

Edit: have seen a 900nc for $122 delivered. Sound reasonable?

Last edited by programmer; 23-10-2007 at 11:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 23-10-2007, 11:29 PM
ballaratdragons's Avatar
ballaratdragons (Ken)
The 'DRAGON MAN'

ballaratdragons is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In the Dark at Snake Valley, Victoria
Posts: 14,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by programmer View Post
Edit: have seen a 900nc for $122 delivered. Sound reasonable?
Yes.

In answer to your other question, no, you wouldn't notice any difference. The SPC900NC has a slightly better improvement in the circuit board components and the way it downloads the data. Either one is fine.

Apparently the 900 is easier to modify if you ever go down that track.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 23-10-2007, 11:36 PM
programmer's Avatar
programmer
Computer tragic

programmer is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cheltenham, Victoria
Posts: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballaratdragons View Post
Yes.

In answer to your other question, no, you wouldn't notice any difference. The SPC900NC has a slightly better improvement in the circuit board components and the way it downloads the data. Either one is fine.

Apparently the 900 is easier to modify if you ever go down that track.
I notice the 900nc is USB2.0 which would make a big difference to the speed it could stream data to the pc. For an extra $22, sounds like the go!

This guy seems to think there are some physical drawbacks (see last couple of photos) but presumably the appropriate adapter would be fine with it. Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 23-10-2007, 11:47 PM
programmer's Avatar
programmer
Computer tragic

programmer is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cheltenham, Victoria
Posts: 494
Well, I just bought a 900nc off eBay. Thanks for the feedback, and sorry for taking the thread off-topic.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 23-10-2007, 11:52 PM
ballaratdragons's Avatar
ballaratdragons (Ken)
The 'DRAGON MAN'

ballaratdragons is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In the Dark at Snake Valley, Victoria
Posts: 14,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by programmer View Post
This guy seems to think there are some physical drawbacks (see last couple of photos) but presumably the appropriate adapter would be fine with it. Thanks again!
Ahhh, yes the thread attached to the chip housing!!! That worried me too when they first came out.
If the camera is knocked it could snap the threaded piece off.

Both the 840k and the 900 are USB1.1 but both will run better on USB2
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 24-10-2007, 12:23 AM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,723
The 900nc has a different chipset - less noise! And a new codec meaning less compression.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 26-08-2008, 09:55 AM
StevenA (Steven)
Registered User

StevenA is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Springvale, Victoria
Posts: 70
WEBCAM Light

There is a little green light on the webcam (Logitech 10) that comes on when activated. I have painted over it for the moment as it affects the images I capture; How does one disconnect this light safely. I do not wish to do anything that I will regret. I would like some info before I attempt this alteration to the webcam. Can anyone suggest how or better still send images or details on disconnection of the green light.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 26-08-2008, 09:57 AM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,723
Does the green light interfere with your imaging?
If it doesn't get in the light path I wouldn't bother about it.

Otherwise put some black tape over it?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 26-08-2008, 10:15 AM
RB's Avatar
RB (Andrew)
Moderator

RB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 23,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenA View Post
There is a little green light on the webcam (Logitech 10) that comes on when activated. I have painted over it for the moment as it affects the images I capture;
You're getting internal stray light onto the chip.
If you're worried about disconnecting the LED and depending on how proficient you are at modding, maybe you could open the case and pull the LED through it's mounting hole to the outside of the case and leaving it connected and not affect the circuit.
Then block the hole so no stray light can enter and leave the LED painted if you wish.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 23-09-2008, 10:18 AM
StevenA (Steven)
Registered User

StevenA is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Springvale, Victoria
Posts: 70
Steven A

Thanks. Will pull the bloody thing out because of stray light on image. Although so far the images of Jupiter are fairly good. How do I get full images of moon. So far I can only get partials as I seem to be focused too close. Do I extend tube between scope and camera. Is it really this simple????

I do not have credit card so where in melbourne can I purchase a Toucam which I have heard so much praise about?.... Is there an electronics shop somewhere? Who makes it ? etc etc etc....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 08:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement