Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Equipment Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 24-01-2019, 08:46 PM
Sunfish (Ray)
Registered User

Sunfish is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Wollongong
Posts: 590
Upgrading Firmware Synscan 3.06 serial cable

After enjoying a secondhand HEQ5 with synscan 3.06 controller , I decided I would like to try using Ascom with this mount. To use the Ascom driver I would need to upgrade the firmware to the later version.3.39. Ha.

I did not have a cable. Out of stock on Ebay. Not listed at SW Aus or Bintel.

Rather than wait and spend $30, yes $30 for a telephone cable, I thought I could make one with a spare DB9 RJ11 / RS232 connector.( which by the way cost $15 from Wildcard) It has six pins at the cable end. How hard can it be with three wires? Well it turns out it is physically quite simple, but getting those three out of six wires in the right configuration looking in the mirror took half a day.

My advice? ignore the colours and stick to the multimeter. Stick to default 9600 on your old pc serial port 1. Only takes 30 min to flash. I can check the Keyspan USB later and see if that works also.

Turns out there is lot of disagreement about how best to do this and the correct pins , because it depends of course , which end of the swap over cable you look at ( the SW one like guide port and EQ is straight through) here is the diagrams that worked for me. DB connector for the INSIDE.

Finally got it right and flashed the Synscan hand control. Here are some pictures showing the pins I pulled out of the Db connector with gentle persuasion pushing with a small storx in the front of the DB9 and pulling with tiny pliers. Must have taken the crimped end out and put them back 20 times before I got the multimeter to read bingo in mirror image with the other end, and then to check the control was linking but they still work. I am not recommending this unless you have an afternoon spare and cant wait for stock.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (P1060235.jpeg)
65.0 KB12 views
Click for full-size image (P1060237.jpeg)
22.6 KB10 views
Click for full-size image (astro_eq6-2-1.jpg)
66.5 KB12 views
Click for full-size image (RJ11_pinout2.jpg)
57.3 KB14 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-01-2019, 10:27 PM
Ukastronomer (Jeremy)
Feel free to edit my imag

Ukastronomer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Llandysul, WALES, UK
Posts: 1,220
My comment is for the sake of $15 I would rather have the proper thing, it isn't as if it is a lot, more hassle and if wrong can cost you a lot more
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-01-2019, 06:44 AM
Sunfish (Ray)
Registered User

Sunfish is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Wollongong
Posts: 590
Forget Keyspan

Plus minimum postage. So maybe $40 for three wires.

The handset enquire button in the uploader lets you know if you have it right. Does not explode. If the power goes out halfway in any case I think itís a reset.

The Keyspan USB serial does not work with this. Maybe another model.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-01-2019, 06:52 AM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 7,097
Ray,
That's strange.
I've been using the KeySpan USB>serial adaptor for the Synscan upgrades, and many other applications for the past 10 years or so.
Never let me down. No Issues no drama.

I'd be interested to hear some detail of your experience.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25-01-2019, 07:19 AM
Sunfish (Ray)
Registered User

Sunfish is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Wollongong
Posts: 590
Thanks Ken. I will try again with different settings. I did read somewhere there was trouble with keyspan in particular and it must be their defaults or win7 or vendor smoke. Works with the Argo no problem. Can you tell me what setting you have in the Keyspan Serial assistant?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25-01-2019, 07:45 AM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 7,097
I've used the Keyspan on all my PC's over the years, XP, Win7, Win10 etc.

Just checked for you:
Keyspan USA 19HP
9600
8
none (parity)
1 (stop bits)
none (flow control)

Driver V3.7.05
Comm 3

Hope that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25-01-2019, 09:48 AM
Sunfish (Ray)
Registered User

Sunfish is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Wollongong
Posts: 590
Thanks Again Ken,
After your experience I tried again on the old Win.7 desktop HP and it worked at 9600 although mine is the Keyspan model 19HPs.
So I upgraded the win7 HP laptop to the latest drivers and... it works.
Even works at the higher SW default 115kbps. So that would be much quicker.

Thanks for that. I suppose one imagines if it works in one program that is enough. I am going to check some those other serial to USB things that conflict and see if they can do with some of the latest updates.
Cheers
Ray


Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin66 View Post
I've used the Keyspan on all my PC's over the years, XP, Win7, Win10 etc.

Just checked for you:
Keyspan USA 19HP
9600
8
none (parity)
1 (stop bits)
none (flow control)

Driver V3.7.05
Comm 3

Hope that helps.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 02:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement