ICEINSPACE
Member Login
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON New Moon
0.6%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
10:10 pm
Perth
8:10 pm
Auckland
12:10 am
New York*
8:10 am
Paris*
2:10 pm
GMT
12:10 pm




Image of the Week
IOTW for 13 August 2013
Image Of The Week
The Tower in M16

This stunning high-resolution image is a billowing tower of cold gas and dust rising from a stellar nursery called the Eagle Nebula, or M16. The soaring tower is 9.5 light-years or about 90 trillion kilometres high. The image was captured with a iTelescope 10" RC scope and SBIG STXL6303E camera located at Siding Spring Observatory, and consists of 12 hours Ha, SII and OIII data.

Previous Images of the Week


 
Date Author Title
19 Dec RickS Helix Nebula in Narrowband
09 Dec Antu Colourful Night Sky
28 Nov dvj Rosette in Hydrogen-Alpha
19 Nov mental4astro A Fractured Moon - Rimae Hippalus
11 Nov Dennis The Remarkable AR 1890 Complex
28 Oct EricB South Pole of the Moon
18 Oct naskies NGC 247 Needle's Eye Galaxy
09 Oct Nicola Elephants Trunk Nebula - IC1396A
18 Sep CapturingTheNight Field of Dreams
10 Sep White Rabbit The Lagoon Nebula in Hydrogen Alpha
03 Sep Alex Cherney 25th Anniversary at the ATCA
20 Aug Shiraz NGC253 - The Sculptor Galaxy
13 Aug Bassnut The Tower in M16
06 Aug IanP Antares and Rho Ophiucus
29 Jul von Tom Venus after Sunset
09 Jul Paul Haese The Wolf - SL17 Dark Nebula
14 Jun strongmanmike The Keyhole Nebula
06 Jun marco Sharpless 308 - Cosmic Bubble
12 Feb asimov Saturn Rising
22 Jan SkyViking Thor's Helmet - NGC2359
14 Jan gregbradley The Horsehead and Flame Nebula Complex
07 Jan niko Star Trails from Airey's Inlet
01 Jan Peter Ward Happy New Year IceInSpace
Filter by author:
 
* All IMAGE OF THE WEEK images are subject to the copyright of their respective owners and may not be distributed, modified or reproduced in whole or in part without the prior permission of the respective owners.
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Atik One
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement
ICEINSPACE
AUSTRALIAN AMATEUR ASTRONOMY
Copyright © 2004-2017 ICEINSPACE.
All rights reserved.