ICEINSPACE
Member Login
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
1.8%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
2:17 pm
Perth
11:17 am
Auckland*
4:17 pm
New York*
11:17 pm
Paris*
5:17 am
GMT
3:17 am




Image of the Week
IOTW for 6 June 2013
Image Of The Week
Sharpless 308 - Cosmic Bubble

Blown by fast winds from a hot, massive star, this cosmic bubble is huge. Cataloged as Sharpless 308 it lies some 5,200 light-years away in the constellation Canis Major and covers over 2/3 degree on the sky (compared with 1/2 degree for the Full Moon). That corresponds to a diameter of 60 light-years at its estimated distance. The massive star itself, a Wolf-Rayet star, is the bright blue one near the center of the nebula. Captured with an TEC140 and FLI Proline 16803, in Ha/O3/RGB.

Previous Images of the Week


 
Date Author Title
19 Dec RickS Helix Nebula in Narrowband
09 Dec Antu Colourful Night Sky
28 Nov dvj Rosette in Hydrogen-Alpha
19 Nov mental4astro A Fractured Moon - Rimae Hippalus
11 Nov Dennis The Remarkable AR 1890 Complex
28 Oct EricB South Pole of the Moon
18 Oct naskies NGC 247 Needle's Eye Galaxy
09 Oct Nicola Elephants Trunk Nebula - IC1396A
18 Sep CapturingTheNight Field of Dreams
10 Sep White Rabbit The Lagoon Nebula in Hydrogen Alpha
03 Sep Alex Cherney 25th Anniversary at the ATCA
20 Aug Shiraz NGC253 - The Sculptor Galaxy
13 Aug Bassnut The Tower in M16
06 Aug IanP Antares and Rho Ophiucus
29 Jul von Tom Venus after Sunset
09 Jul Paul Haese The Wolf - SL17 Dark Nebula
14 Jun strongmanmike The Keyhole Nebula
06 Jun marco Sharpless 308 - Cosmic Bubble
12 Feb asimov Saturn Rising
22 Jan SkyViking Thor's Helmet - NGC2359
14 Jan gregbradley The Horsehead and Flame Nebula Complex
07 Jan niko Star Trails from Airey's Inlet
01 Jan Peter Ward Happy New Year IceInSpace
Filter by author:
 
* All IMAGE OF THE WEEK images are subject to the copyright of their respective owners and may not be distributed, modified or reproduced in whole or in part without the prior permission of the respective owners.
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement
ICEINSPACE
AUSTRALIAN AMATEUR ASTRONOMY
Copyright © 2004-2017 ICEINSPACE.
All rights reserved.