Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Astrophotography
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 15-03-2012, 03:51 PM
billdan (Bill)

8inch F4 or F5 for imaging

Hi guys,

I'm new to Ice in Space so I hope this is the right place for the thread.

I want to start doing some imaging and I was going to get an EQ6 mount, but was unsure on which scope to put on top. I already have a 12.5in F5.6 on a split ring EQ mount which is great for visual but useless for imaging ( massive periodic error).

Both the 8 inch F4 and F5 newt' scopes are about the same price to buy, but I hear from other forums that people are having collimation issues with the F4 and I wonder should I give up on the F4 (looks nice in CF) and go to the F5 as a first time imaging person. Even though its 10 inches longer.

I am mostly interested in Neb's and galaxies and will start off with my DSLR unguided and progress from there.

Any advise?

Regards
Bill

P.S The aperture demon keeps telling me to get a 10inch F4.
Old 15-03-2012, 04:51 PM
Moon (James)
This sentence is false

Hello Bill

The 8 inch f/4 will be smaller, so it won't be impacted as much by gusts of wind. Same thing for 10 inch f/4 - you'll need a really good mount.

I saw some good results from a 6inch newt with DSLR recently. That could be something for you to consider. If you're not guiding, you'll need a wide field of view (short focal length) and very short subs.

James
Old 15-03-2012, 05:50 PM
billdan (Bill)

Thanks for the advise James, I guess unguided is only until I get more gear. Until then I am hoping to get decent 45sec to 60sec subs with a good drift alignment.

Bill
Old 15-03-2012, 06:18 PM
alistairsam

Hi Bill,

if you're getting an EQ6, adding guiding capability will only need a mini 8x50 finder and a guide camera or a modified philips toucam if you're skies are reasonably dark. (small guidescope-easier to get a guide star from darker skies)