ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
18.4%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
6:31 pm
Perth
3:31 pm
Auckland*
8:31 pm
New York*
3:31 am
Paris*
9:31 am
GMT
7:31 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > Images > Solar System

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 31-12-2011, 07:14 AM
tornado33
Registered User

tornado33 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Posts: 3,836
Comet Lovejoy 31Dec from Senic Lookout Newcastle

Finally the clouds partly dissapeared, allowing me to get some imaging done in between clouds at Senic Lookout. Sky was surprisingly dark in between the clouds with a stiff onshore soueaster blowing. Once again I used the old Sampson GEM to do tracked exposures.

9x30 secs ISO400. 50mm f1.8 lens @f1.8, thats all I could , I did more subs but they had too much cloud in them. Larger version here

I could not see the comet naked eye though.
Scott
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (lovejoy9x30secsiso400x50mmf1.8x31dec2011darkseniccloud2.jpg)
161.2 KB105 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31-12-2011, 09:14 AM
renormalised's Avatar
renormalised (Carl)
No More Infinities

renormalised is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Townsville
Posts: 9,687
Nice shot, Scott. I don't think it'll hang around for too much longer by the looks of it at present.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31-12-2011, 10:32 AM
CometGuy's Avatar
CometGuy
Registered User

CometGuy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 942
Great stuff Scott. I'm guessing you used IRIS to remove the sky gradients?

Terry
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31-12-2011, 11:00 AM
Lester's Avatar
Lester
Registered User

Lester is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: E.P. S.A.
Posts: 4,963
Very nice view of the comet Scott. Thanks for the view.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31-12-2011, 01:56 PM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 10,063
Nice going Scott, yep it is very difficult to make it out, even in a very dark sky, well done.

Leon
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31-12-2011, 05:27 PM
tornado33
Registered User

tornado33 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Posts: 3,836
Thanks all
Yep, Iris gradient removal is pretty good and smoothed it out nicely, save for the unavoidable cloud contamination in corner.
Scott
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31-12-2011, 06:31 PM
venus's Avatar
venus (Lydia)
AstroNan

venus is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 682
Great capture Scott!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 05:31 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement