ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON New Moon
0.6%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
9:20 pm
Perth
7:20 pm
Auckland
11:20 pm
New York*
7:20 am
Paris*
1:20 pm
GMT
11:20 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > Images > Solar System

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 29-12-2011, 12:20 PM
astronobob's Avatar
astronobob (Bob)
Casual Cosmos Capturer

astronobob is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Gold Coast SE QLD
Posts: 3,369
Lovejoy and Possible fragments ?

Hi all Astro-liano's : )

On advice to grab a higher Magnified capture of Lovejoy, I took along to Rathdowney 28th, the Heq5p and a 900mm F/9 refractor and took this image of 120sec .
Unfortunately cloud obscured the head and was only able to grab only one guide frame; I didnt bother with the lappy for autoguiding but did manage to some extent with the Reticle ?
Apon streching the data I have notice a couple of anomolies, whether they be artifacts or fragments I dare Not say : ) Look a little Suss to me, but then again I am Not experienced enough to be sure ?

Just thought I post these for interest as anyone who may have a better set-up and opporunity for further investigation ? ?

1st is the whole frame with increased levels

2nd is a cropp with further levels .

Cheers for looking ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-12-2011, 12:23 PM
renormalised's Avatar
renormalised (Carl)
No More Infinities

renormalised is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Townsville
Posts: 9,687
Piccie???
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-12-2011, 12:23 PM
astronobob's Avatar
astronobob (Bob)
Casual Cosmos Capturer

astronobob is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Gold Coast SE QLD
Posts: 3,369
sorry, pics added
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (W0010001.jpg)
123.0 KB47 views
Click for full-size image (W0020001.jpg)
129.8 KB56 views
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-12-2011, 12:26 PM
renormalised's Avatar
renormalised (Carl)
No More Infinities

renormalised is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Townsville
Posts: 9,687
Hard to say what's there.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-12-2011, 12:31 PM
loomberah's Avatar
loomberah (Gordon)
Registered User

loomberah is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Loomberah, NSW
Posts: 87
No fragments recorded there!

Bob, the bits you have highlighted are artifacts of the images, and are way finer than any real images of stars etc. You cant have real objects that are way smaller than the resolution of the image!
Rob McNaught took some images with the Uppsala Schmidt at Siding Spring Observatory recently (~1700mm FL, 500mm aperture) and there isn't any real sign of condensations on that image.
I might have a go at it with my 45cm, but am not confident I can record any fragments either, after seeing the Uppsala image.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29-12-2011, 12:37 PM
astronobob's Avatar
astronobob (Bob)
Casual Cosmos Capturer

astronobob is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Gold Coast SE QLD
Posts: 3,369
Fair enough Carl and Gordan, thanx for that as I truly wasn't sure but thought it was not likely as I hadn't heard any reports around my traps, but may have been from the higher qualified guy's ?
Appreciate that and hope I havent wasted anybody's time : )
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement