ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
18.4%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
6:35 pm
Perth
3:35 pm
Auckland*
8:35 pm
New York*
3:35 am
Paris*
9:35 am
GMT
7:35 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > Images > Solar System

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 28-12-2011, 04:50 AM
dpastern (Dave Pastern)
PI cult member

dpastern is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,603
Comet Lovejoy 28th December

This is the best I can do - I've played with levels with this to try and bring out more detail in the comet, not entirely sure that I've done a good job of it lol...oh well, it's the best that I can do given my current set of astro imaging skills.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7165/6...e06101b8_o.jpg

Dave

PS I cannot believe how many cars drove by...I counted 30 odd in the space of 70 mins...I got to my site (admittedly on Warwick rd, a busy highway) @ 2.45, by 3.55 30 odd cars...crikey!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28-12-2011, 05:28 AM
jjjnettie's Avatar
jjjnettie (Jeanette)
Registered User

jjjnettie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Far Far Away
Posts: 16,725
I'm glad to see you captured that shadowing along the edges of the comet. I thought I was seeing things while I was processing mine from this morning.
Very nice picture David. Definitely one for the pool room.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28-12-2011, 05:57 AM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 10,063
Nice effort David, at least you got a shot of it, more than i can say for some, shame about the power lines, however a great image.

Leon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28-12-2011, 06:09 AM
Liz's Avatar
Liz
Registered User

Liz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Beautiful SE Tassie
Posts: 4,734
Nice one Dave.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28-12-2011, 07:33 AM
Lester's Avatar
Lester
Registered User

Lester is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: E.P. S.A.
Posts: 4,963
Thanks for the view Dave, very nice.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29-12-2011, 01:17 AM
dpastern (Dave Pastern)
PI cult member

dpastern is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,603
Thanks guys. An improvement over the first attempts from Friday, and better than my McNaught efforts too, so I guess I improved. Would have loved a better image but alas...still, I've now seen 3 great comets - Hyakutake, McNaught & Lovejoy. That's better than your ordinary common grass guy does, so ain't complaining.

Lester - thanks for the tips. Jeanette, thanks for the encouragement.

Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 05:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement