ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
18.4%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
6:31 pm
Perth
3:31 pm
Auckland*
8:31 pm
New York*
3:31 am
Paris*
9:31 am
GMT
7:31 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > Images > Solar System

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 27-12-2011, 07:27 PM
rat156's Avatar
rat156
Registered User

rat156 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,651
Comet Lovejoy from central Vic

Hi All,

Made my way out to the same spot I chose last week, near Elphinstone.

Some very curious Horses in the paddock next to me whilst I was taking pic of the comet, I think that they thought I was going to feed them. Bloody noisy buggers too!

Anyway, took many photos, some turned out nice, stacked about four of the 30s ones. I worked out I needed a faster lens, so got onto Fleabay and bought one, all set for tomorrow morning. Taking the missus and kids this time, so at least I don't have to sneak around the house in the morning. This should ensure crappy weather!

Cheers
Stuart
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Mean-Lovejoy-30sv2.jpg)
157.6 KB190 views
Click for full-size image (Mean-Lovejoy-30s-Starless.jpg)
192.0 KB63 views

Last edited by rat156; 27-12-2011 at 08:59 PM. Reason: Added second picture
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-12-2011, 07:41 PM
renormalised's Avatar
renormalised (Carl)
No More Infinities

renormalised is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Townsville
Posts: 9,687
Nice shot, Stuart

The comet looks almost like an exclamation mark in your piccie
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-12-2011, 09:00 PM
naskies's Avatar
naskies (Dave)
Registered User

naskies is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,865
That's a great composition, Stuart. Was there a lot of moisture or some thin cloud? Alpha/Beta Centauri have a nice glow around them - I really like that effect.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-12-2011, 09:00 PM
rat156's Avatar
rat156
Registered User

rat156 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,651
Removed most of the stars from the original image, makes the comet stand out more.

Cheers
Stuart
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-12-2011, 09:02 PM
rat156's Avatar
rat156
Registered User

rat156 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,651
Quote:
Originally Posted by naskies View Post
That's a great composition, Stuart. Was there a lot of moisture or some thin cloud? Alpha/Beta Centauri have a nice glow around them - I really like that effect.
Probably crap on the lens, don't know in reality, there was a lot of moisture in the air over Melbourne...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 05:31 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement