ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
18.4%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
6:32 pm
Perth
3:32 pm
Auckland*
8:32 pm
New York*
3:32 am
Paris*
9:32 am
GMT
7:32 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > Images > Solar System

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 27-12-2011, 02:30 PM
Quark's Avatar
Quark (Trevor)
Registered User

Quark is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Broken Hill NSW Australia
Posts: 3,993
Comet Lovejoy Dec 27th from Broken Hill + animation

Hi All,

Cannot believe just how much the comet has faded since Dec 24th, the Tail has also clearly grown longer. I have not seen any info on the orbit of the comet but it does seem to be inclined considerably to the plane of the ecliptic. Wonder if it is infact a parabola.

Was setup out near our local Airport by 2:30am local and imaged through to 4:30am local. Have 38 45 sec exposures at 24mm F4 and ISO 1600.

Have posted 7 of my images covering the overall session along with a link to an animation of all 38 images NOTE: the animation is 9.4 Mb.

http://www.iceinspace.com.au/uploads...2011-12-27.gif

I can see a faster L series Lens coming my way, I used the noise reduction within the 450D but still there is still a fair amount of noise in these.

Thanks for looking.
Regards
Trevor
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (_MG_0670.jpg)
191.0 KB22 views
Click for full-size image (_MG_0676.jpg)
190.6 KB18 views
Click for full-size image (_MG_0682.jpg)
191.2 KB19 views
Click for full-size image (_MG_0688.jpg)
191.0 KB19 views
Click for full-size image (_MG_0694.jpg)
190.9 KB14 views
Click for full-size image (_MG_0700.jpg)
192.4 KB19 views
Click for full-size image (_MG_0706.jpg)
195.4 KB38 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-12-2011, 06:49 PM
Lester's Avatar
Lester
Registered User

Lester is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: E.P. S.A.
Posts: 4,963
Thanks for the views Trevor. The comet really has faded rapidly since I have last seen it. All the best.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-12-2011, 08:55 PM
naskies's Avatar
naskies (Dave)
Registered User

naskies is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,865
Very nice, Trevor! Looks like you have some very dark skies there. That last photo with the sunrise is stunning.

Out of curiosity, have out tried stacking some of the pre-dawn shots? It looks you've got some excellent data there.

Canon's L primes are a joy to use, especially the 24 mm f/1.4L II. I'm sure that H will agree with me!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 05:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement