Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 26-08-2011, 09:05 PM
vicki76 (Vicki)

Smile newbie here....Hello

HI Guys and gals. My name is Vicki and I am a total Astronomy virgin. I am yet to look through a telescope (have been exploring with Bino's).

I have just placed my order today for an 8" DOB to give to my son for his 10th B'day (he is in love with space). I have spent tha last few weeks perusing this forum and getting great help. After much conflicting advice from people about what our first scope should be we finally settled on the DOB to begin with but I know as my...cough...OUR addiction grows (as it has in just a few weeks) i know i will upgrade to a scope capable for great astro photography (I am a Photographer).

I look foward to all your help and i know i will enjoy exploring the world beyond our own.

Vicki
Old 27-08-2011, 02:56 AM
stephenb (Stephen)

Hi Vicki and welcome,

Well after reading all that advice, I strongly believe you've made an excellent decision. You have scored the perfect scope for a newcomer to the hobby (and for a 10yo!)

All the usual recommendations will pop in here: http://stellarium.org/ for a great free computer planetarium and for some extra goodies look into a Telrad finder. A lot of people swear by them.

You have a astro club on the Mornington Peninsula http://www.mpas.asn.au/ I'd look into them if your time permits. I'm sure you and your son will will be most welcome to some observing evenings!

Congrat on a great purchase, and look forward to hearing all about your first light!

Regards,
Stephen
Old 27-08-2011, 05:05 AM
Allan_L (Allan)
Member > 10year club

Welcome Vicki

As Stephen has said, you have made a great start in approach and choice.

I too recommend stellarium, a great assistance in finding what is up in your region, and a great entertainment on cloudy nights.

Congratulations on your "first steps into a larger universe"
Old 27-08-2011, 07:49 AM