Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > ATM and DIY Projects
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 17-01-2016, 07:13 PM
jwoody (Jeremy)

DIY camera rotator

Hello all
I want to try and make a camera rotator using Arduino and a stepper motor. I have minimal experience with electronics but I am slowly gathering information for this project and this is what I think I need so far...

* a robust stepper motor (Nema 17)?
* Arduino Uno R3
* a breakout board for the stepper (which I think I already have ULN2003) http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/5V-4Phase...IAAOSw4SlV8kDo

Am I right in thinking that the Nema 17 requires 12voltsDC and that the ULN2003 breakout will control it as long as I have a separate 12VDC power source? Is the Nema 17 overkill?

I have alot of other things to consider about this project but small steps and all that.....
Your help is very much appreciated
Thanks
Jeremy
Old 17-01-2016, 08:24 PM
codemonkey (Lee)
Lee "Wormsy" Borsboom

Hey Jeremy,

I'm totally new to all of this myself, having only completed one electronics project in my entire life, and that was motorising focusing on my Esprit.

One thing I can tell you though is that Nema 17 is the frame size of the motor, and doesn't say much about the amount of torque it delivers, though you may find there's some upper or lower bounds for motors with that size.

You need to figure out how much torque you need, and from there find a motor that delivers that. If you don't know how, or can't be bothered, you can always wing it (that's what I did), but you run the risk of buying multiple times when you find out the thing you originally bought wasn't right (also what I did).