#1  
Old 28-05-2015, 09:35 AM
garymck (Gary)
Registered User

garymck is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Geelong
Posts: 671
Dual Imaging rig?

Hi,

I posted earlier asking about mono cameras (I currently have an Sbig ST8300C), it had been my intention to perhaps sell the camera and replace it with a mono. However, after checking out the cost of good filters it seems that buying a mono camera and keeping my Sbig might be an economical idea (that plus the fact that I really like the Sbig

How feasible is it to say put a QHY9 on my Tak TSA120, use that for luminance, whilst using a smaller scope (ED80 or similar) with the ST8300C simultaneously taking the color? Then later combining the data. his would maximize imaging time - particularly visiting dark sky sites?

Is this a worthwhile idea?

cheers
Gary
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28-05-2015, 09:43 AM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,159
Definitely, as long as your mount can handle it.

Tom Davis used to do the same thing and made some spectacular images.

H
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28-05-2015, 10:04 AM
glend (Glen)
Registered User

glend is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lake Macquarie
Posts: 5,285
Interesting idea. Wouldn't it be important to make sure your field of view was close on both scopes? What about differing pixel sizes?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28-05-2015, 11:26 AM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,159
Any decent processing software (IRIS, PixInsight) nowadays have very powerful transformation tools which match images from different scopes, etc.

Some of Rob Gendler's work, for example, he has taken with his widefield FSQ and then blended in images from his RCOS for finer detail in nebulae.

H
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28-05-2015, 11:32 AM
LewisM's Avatar
LewisM
Novichok test rabbit

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 9,232
CCDStack will alter size and geometry to allow for differing scales etc. PI doe too, but I still don't "get" PI.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28-05-2015, 11:36 AM
gbeal
Registered User

gbeal is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 4,298
I've tried it, albeit not too seriously, but found it was not as simple as I thought. To me it was more trouble than it was worth, so I went back to separate sessions for separate cameras.
Your mileage..................
Gary
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-05-2015, 07:01 PM
PRejto's Avatar
PRejto (Peter)
Registered User

PRejto is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,289
Gary,

This is what I've been doing and trying to perfect with my 2 refractors, a TEC140 and TEC180. I use a Trius on the TEC140 and a KAF8300 CCD on the TEC180. The FOVs are quite similar as are the resolutions (.95/.88) I do luminance on the TEC180 and colour on the TEC140. The images combine and stack easily in CCDStack. I also had custom software written for me so that I can link exposures between TSX CAO and CCDSoft. This allows me to dither exposures. And finally, Focus Max V.4 allows for Acquire Star to run two focusers. All of this actually allows me to finally control both cameras using CCDAP5 though I only have control over 1 filter wheel (which doesn't matter if I'm doing luminance only with one camera). I can automatically collect data in a ratio of 1 lum: 3 RGB. Given our stinking weather there is great potential here which I have yet to fully test. The issues with Acquire Star took months to solve (thank you Steve Brady!) with success only last week. Anyway, you can see pictures, etc at my pbase pages.

Is it worth doing? For sure, but automation is really complicated!

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-05-2015, 07:31 PM
Moon's Avatar
Moon (James)
This sentence is false

Moon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,147
I thought about this too, but when I tried it I could measure significant differential flexible between the two scopes. Way more than I was used to seeing between a guide scope and main OTA. I guess this makes sense when you consider the weight of the scopes.
James
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement