Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 29-07-2012, 08:20 AM
hotspur's Avatar
hotspur (Chris)
Registered User

hotspur is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: south east QLD,Australia
Posts: 2,850
Using Canon Picture Style Editor-question on saving file.

Using a few of the Canon editing programs this morning,the results in shop look better than my poor attempts in CS5.However when in PSE,and work is completed,how does one save that file? I get a 'Pf2' label to save as,and that's all,when saved in document its a tiny little file.I'd like to try and apply the changes I see that I have made PSE and still keep the original RAW.

These DDP and other canon programs I'd like to use more,and just use CS5 for a crop and basic finishing stuff.

Any help most appreciated.thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-07-2012, 11:33 AM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 10,735
Chris do you use Zoombrowser, that came with the Canon Camera, it is very good actually.

All my images are in this program, after doing any crops, or trims, i sometimes take them to PS2, for resizing or just a touch up, and then save them back in the original folder.

There is not much else required unless doing Star images, but that is MHO only, I hardly use PS at all really.

Leon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-07-2012, 01:28 PM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,159
Chris,

I haven't used the Picture Style Editor, but, I suspect that if you wish to use the picture style, it would need to be applied through Digital Photo Professional.

So, you just need to find out how to import the style into DPP.

I am heading to work so can't look it up right now.

H
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-07-2012, 04:10 PM
hotspur's Avatar
hotspur (Chris)
Registered User

hotspur is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: south east QLD,Australia
Posts: 2,850
Ah,no dramas H,I'll play around with it-I did think it might be as you suggested.But I want to give some serious time from now on using canon software-DDP etc.I do remember you saying that you you use it for a vast deal of your work,also heard that mentioned by other good photographers,and just use CS5 for some minor finishing,

However,I feel I'll need to learn to use masking and use a fair bit in CS5-as birds in flight against a blue sky etc,might need different approach to your landscape/portrait images,much of my bird shots need a fair bit of cropping.

Thanks Leon,had a look at your suggestion,I'll be using that tool a bit too,had a quick play,noticed I could not get RAW into it though.

I think there is a panorama stiching tool in these canon programs too.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-07-2012, 05:47 PM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,159
Yep, DPP shows you the exact image as you would see on the back of the LCD at the time of capture. Photoshop/Lightroom/other converters are approximations.

ZoomBrowser is just an image browser, it doesn't do any editing.

H
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29-07-2012, 10:02 PM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 10,735
By editing H I presume you mean, Colour and Brightness, RGB Adjustment, Levels, Sharpen, Unsharp Mask, Auto Adjust, Saturation, Contrast, Red eye, and Tone Curve Adjustment, Trim or Crop

Well my ZoomBrowser dose do this and more.

Leon
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29-07-2012, 10:05 PM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,159
Oops. I'm using my Mac and I have ImageBrowser on there. When I load an image and go to edit it, all the options are greyed out.

Perhaps it's different in ZoomBrowser under Windows. I'll have a look the next time I'm home in front of my PC.

Does ZoomBrowser fire up a DPP edit window or does it have its own editing mechanism?

H
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29-07-2012, 10:08 PM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 10,735
No It has its own, but one can import from DDP and Photo Shop, and back again to PS, and so on.

Leon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement