#1  
Old 23-02-2009, 08:24 PM
telecasterguru's Avatar
telecasterguru (Frank)
Have scope will travel!

telecasterguru is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pitnacree NSW
Posts: 1,452
newt and barlow

I have an 8' newt on an EQ6 and want to do some planetary and lunar imaging. I have a 2" barlow but want to know if I can go to a 3x or even a 5x to image planets and lunar. How much magnification will the scope handle.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-02-2009, 09:24 PM
RobF's Avatar
RobF (Rob)
Mostly harmless...

RobF is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 5,458
Not lucky enough to own one, but believe people have done great work here with 5x Powermates on big newts....
With image stacking, no reason you shouldn't be able to get it to work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-02-2009, 03:40 PM
darrellx's Avatar
darrellx (Darrell)
Registered User

darrellx is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland
Posts: 278
Frank

I have an 8inch newt on an EQ5. I also have a 3x ED Barlow and a 5x PowerMate. I use both of them the way you want to - planets and lunar.
Both work fine, however, I use the 3x much more than the 5x. To use the 5x, the conditions have to be really good. And on the Gold Coast lately, that doesn't happen often.

I use a DMK21 to do the imaging.

Part of my problem, I suspect, is the EQ5. It is a bit "wobbly" at times.

But a 5x is no problem with an 8 inch.

Darrell
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-02-2009, 05:17 PM
telecasterguru's Avatar
telecasterguru (Frank)
Have scope will travel!

telecasterguru is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pitnacree NSW
Posts: 1,452
Thanks for the info. I just wasn't sure how hard I could push the scope hence the question. I have an Acuter webcam, DSI Pro II and a Canon 350d all of which I have had very limited chance to use but I am determined to make more time. I'll try a 3x to start and see how I go. Tonight is about the first night in a month that is looking promising. Also, is it worth getting a coma corrector as the scope is an f5?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-02-2009, 08:17 PM
darrellx's Avatar
darrellx (Darrell)
Registered User

darrellx is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland
Posts: 278
Well, my 8inch is f6 and I do notice a bit of coma. Especially as magnification increases. But then I may be getting a little too critical. I have a 400d, which I tend to only use for my attempts at deep sky stuff. It is this one, not the dmk and the planetary imaging, that has made me look at the coma issue. Anyway my next purchase will be an MPCC. From what I have read, I think it will be worth it.

Darrell
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24-02-2009, 10:38 PM
telecasterguru's Avatar
telecasterguru (Frank)
Have scope will travel!

telecasterguru is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pitnacree NSW
Posts: 1,452
Thanks Darrell,
I just did a search for the MPCC and it looks interesting and not overly expensive but after watching the clouds roll over for the past two hours, and once again not even getting to focus the scope, its time to pack up for the night. That I suppose is why they invented tomorrow.

Frank
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement