#1  
Old 01-01-2010, 01:24 PM
RobF's Avatar
RobF (Rob)
Mostly harmless...

RobF is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 5,550
QHY9 + LRGB filters - use IDAS LPS or not?

Hi

From my backyard in the city I've always used an IDAS pollution suppression filter with my 450D DSLR. I'm still planning to use my MPCC on the front of the QHY9+FW when I get it all, and I imagine while shooting from the city I should still put the IDAS LPS on the front of the MPCC?

Any thoughts appreciated.

My thinking is just because I'll be shooting separate LRBG shots, there's nothing that's going to help with light pollution?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-01-2010, 06:51 PM
Gama's Avatar
Gama
Registered User

Gama is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,121
The filters are already narrow enough, so i dont see the need for the LPS. If your not using filters, then you could use it.

Theo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-01-2010, 07:47 PM
rat156's Avatar
rat156
Registered User

rat156 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,653
Contrary to that, I always use it. Although the colour filters are reasonably narrow, most of the gradients in images are from artificial lighting, using the Hutech filter reduces, but doesn't remove the gradients. The gradients are particularly horrid on the green channel. As mine is mounted in front of the filterwheel I don't remove it even for narrowband, it makes no difference anyway.

Cheers
Stuart
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-01-2010, 08:48 PM
AlexN's Avatar
AlexN
Tunnel Vision

AlexN is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 6,708
Good info Stuart, I was going to ask that question the other day.. I figured using narrowband filters through an LPS would be fine, but I wasnt sure.. Good to hear that you've done it and it works well..

Theres another thing to add to the always growing list of things to buy...


Did I mention that I hate light pollution?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-2010, 09:39 PM
rat156's Avatar
rat156
Registered User

rat156 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,653
Hi Alex,

I have both the 2" version and the 1.25" version. I found a spot to thread the 1.25" version in between the OAG and CFW, so it's permanently mounted now. I'm really not using the 2" now (I used to have it screwed onto the nosepiece, but have it behind the pick off prism now), I really should sell it, but I like to keep these things "just in case".

Cheers
Stuart
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-01-2010, 12:40 AM
RobF's Avatar
RobF (Rob)
Mostly harmless...

RobF is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 5,550
Thanks for your thoughts guys.....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 07:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astromechanics
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement