#1  
Old 15-12-2011, 09:47 AM
Paul Haese's Avatar
Paul Haese
Registered User

Paul Haese is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 9,444
Using Focus max

Hi all,

I am now in the process of setting up automated focusing on my TSA. I have downloaded Focusmax (the latest version from the Yahoo group) and I think I need the ascom drivers too. I will be running it on Win7 starter. I am using Robofocus and all going through the mount hub pro.

I have read a few tutorials on the net but would like some tips on what to watch out for when setting up. What sort of travel steps should I be looking for in the setup? I read 1000 each side is good. Any other issues to keep an eye out?

I just want to be able to do this without too much pain.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-12-2011, 10:03 AM
cventer's Avatar
cventer
Registered User

cventer is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 957
Paul,

I found this a usefull guide

http://www.flemingastrophotography.com/focusmax.html

Also make sure you set it to take at least 3 images per step to average out the seeing. Without this my curves were all over the place.

Although I must admit now days I am not using focusmax anymore as it was a bit of a headache sometimes with all those boxes popping up like crazy and the ascom nightmare.

Because I image using CCDsoft, I have found @focus2 to give very good repeatable results and its faster than focusmax.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-12-2011, 10:31 AM
rogerg's Avatar
rogerg (Roger)
Registered User

rogerg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,546
Right from day one when I installed FocusMax several years ago I've used more or less the default settings. Certainly getting it running initially was just a case of installing it and letting it's "First Light Wizard" do all the work. It did that brilliantly.

The only changes I have made since has been to limit the maximum exposure time to 10 seconds.

I have always used it with my RoboFocus which runs on a JMI NGF-C.

I am quite sure the version I have connects directly to the RoboFocus, not through ASCOM, but I could be wrong. I know I installed a new version not long ago which definitely dealt with ASCOM, caused a few problems, and I reverted back to the older version which had been working reliably.

Roger.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-12-2011, 01:31 PM
OzRob's Avatar
OzRob (Rob)
Registered User

OzRob is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Thailand
Posts: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogerg View Post
I am quite sure the version I have connects directly to the RoboFocus, not through ASCOM, but I could be wrong.
Focusmax needs ASCOM to work.

I have always found setting Focumax up fairly easy. I would do more than one v-curve run.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-12-2011, 01:35 PM
cventer's Avatar
cventer
Registered User

cventer is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 957
Agreed. You need at least 5 - 10 v curve runs per configuration.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-12-2011, 01:51 PM
leinad's Avatar
leinad
Registered User

leinad is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 1,307
Agreed with cventer. 3images per step, and at least 5 or more vcurve runs.

Always check the log; it will point out what is wrong and point you on the right path to fix any errors.

Love Focusmax.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16-12-2011, 10:32 AM
Paul Haese's Avatar
Paul Haese
Registered User

Paul Haese is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 9,444
Thanks guys, I will give this ago over the holiday period once I get the RC12 working and operational.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 12:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Star Adventurer
Advertisement
Celestron RASA
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
EQ8-R
Advertisement
Astromechanics
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement