ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waning Gibbous
98.3%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
3:43 am
Perth
12:43 am
Auckland*
5:43 am
New York
11:43 am
Paris
5:43 pm
GMT
4:43 pm




Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Equipment Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 22-01-2019, 08:55 PM
Ukastronomer (Jeremy)
Registered User

Ukastronomer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Llandysul
Posts: 267
Alternative to camera LCD screen

I find that using a small screen on a DSLR even my D810 / D4s is a pain doing imaging so I decided to add a monitor via the HDMI out on the camera

https://www.lilliputuk.com

Whilst I would not use this without a red screen at an event it makes my life sooooooo simple now
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (P1060285.jpg)
86.6 KB54 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22-01-2019, 09:10 PM
sharpiel (Les)
The Birdman

sharpiel is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 524
Neat idea.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22-01-2019, 09:13 PM
Ukastronomer (Jeremy)
Registered User

Ukastronomer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Llandysul
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharpiel View Post
Neat idea.

I use it with all three scopes, it is particularly helpful when doing Ha, you can zoom in using the camera zoom function ( +- buttons) and get a good HD view

If your camera does not have HDMI out try a USB to HDMI adaptor 5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-01-2019, 12:23 AM
Ukastronomer (Jeremy)
Registered User

Ukastronomer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Llandysul
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by glend View Post
Why not just run BYEOS on a cheap laptop, like the HP Stream? All a screen gives you is a larger Live view, whereas a laptop gives you full control of the imaging process (including focus).
Why would I wan to carry a large laptop when this has all I need and lasts 8 hours on a camera battery and I don't want any more control thanks, if I did I would use my laptop as a professional sports photographer I have all the gear needed, this is what i want for Astronomy

Oh and I prefer Camranger which I use in studio

Last edited by Ukastronomer; 23-01-2019 at 07:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-01-2019, 05:34 AM
SteveInNZ
Registered User

SteveInNZ is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 207
I do the same thing when I'm using the camera without an articulated screen. It's better than rolling around on the ground when shooting at the zenith with a refractor. I only have it on for 5 or 10 minutes and then leave the camera to do its thing with an intervalometer.

Steve.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-01-2019, 11:40 AM
Marke's Avatar
Marke (Mark)
Registered User

Marke is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,092
I just use Nikon Control and the LV option shows on screen and you can zoom in and even focus manually from the PC if you are using a camera lens.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-01-2019, 11:56 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 5,489
I am using DIY magnifier with my 450D... it is smaller than additional screen
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23-01-2019, 07:33 PM
Ukastronomer (Jeremy)
Registered User

Ukastronomer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Llandysul
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveInNZ View Post
I do the same thing when I'm using the camera without an articulated screen. It's better than rolling around on the ground when shooting at the zenith with a refractor. I only have it on for 5 or 10 minutes and then leave the camera to do its thing with an intervalometer.

Steve.
I had a Canon 60D with articulated screen boy do I miss it, but the 7" screen here makes life much easier, I used it when shooting Vid as a photographer
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23-01-2019, 07:36 PM
Ukastronomer (Jeremy)
Registered User

Ukastronomer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Llandysul
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marke View Post
I just use Nikon Control and the LV option shows on screen and you can zoom in and even focus manually from the PC if you are using a camera lens.
Missing the point completely, I posted what I do, and as I said I don't want to carry a laptop
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23-01-2019, 08:02 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 5,489
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ukastronomer View Post
I had a Canon 60D with articulated screen boy do I miss it, but the 7" screen here makes life much easier, I used it when shooting Vid as a photographer

For canon 60D I have this gadget. even better than that for 450D.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 24-01-2019, 12:23 AM
Ukastronomer (Jeremy)
Registered User

Ukastronomer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Llandysul
Posts: 267
yes but that means you still have to look at a small screen which is what I am getting away from, or I would use what i have aready

https://www.zacuto.com/z-finder-dslr-viewfinder
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 24-01-2019, 05:37 AM
JA
.....

JA is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,246
^ Different folks: different strokes !

Best
JA
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 24-01-2019, 06:53 PM
Ukastronomer (Jeremy)
Registered User

Ukastronomer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Llandysul
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by JA View Post
^ Different folks: different strokes !

Best
JA
I was talking about what I use
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 24-01-2019, 07:47 PM
JA
.....

JA is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,246
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ukastronomer View Post
I was talking about what I use
Yes i know and likewise others were sharing their experience with what they use

Best
JA
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 24-01-2019, 10:10 PM
Ukastronomer (Jeremy)
Registered User

Ukastronomer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Llandysul
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by JA View Post
Yes i know and likewise others were sharing their experience with what they use

Best
JA
Have I disagreed ????? I can comment on posts if that's ok, thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 02:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement