#1  
Old 02-11-2010, 11:01 PM
pmrid's Avatar
pmrid (Peter)
Ageing badly.

pmrid is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bribie Is.
Posts: 3,127
Canon 20D - why is it so red?

It's been quite a while since I played with a DSLR on one of my scopes and I seem to have forgotten what, no doubt, is bleedin obvious. I'm using Nebulosity to capture. The camera is not modd'd and has no extrea filters or whatever. But the images have a very distinctly red tone as they download and display. Did I forget to reset the white balance or what?

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-11-2010, 11:08 PM
turbo_pascale's Avatar
turbo_pascale (Rob)
Registered User

turbo_pascale is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 356
Is it a 20D or a 20Da (astro version)?
These are not modded, but come from the factory that way, and have a white balance that is adjusted to compensate.
If that is the case, then the white balance is the likely reason. Check you aren't using a custom white balance.

Is it only on your computer? What do they look like on the camera?
Have you changed any settings on the PC (eg. running Adobe Gamma or something?) It might show up with your picture viewing software if it is using a colour profile that is incorrect for the camera.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-2010, 11:23 PM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,158
Try displaying the RAW images in Digital Photo Professional. That is the only true representation of your image.

There may be a setting somewhere in Nebulosity which will allow you to select the breed of Canon camera with respect to the DiG!C series. Not sure.

Anyway, don't worry too much about the colour balance -- you will have plenty of time in post to fix that up.

H
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2010, 04:35 PM
DeanoNZL (Adrian)
Seize The Night

DeanoNZL is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Rodney, New Zealand
Posts: 310
Peter,
When using Nebulosity, you will have to go the menu item "Image, adjust colour background(offset) or Ctrl+A, then click ok. Don't adjust the sliders.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2010, 05:28 PM
jjjnettie's Avatar
jjjnettie (Jeanette)
Registered User

jjjnettie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Far Far Away
Posts: 16,726
Peter, this is how one of the raw files looked on my lappy. 3min iso400
I used to save to card only then download via usb lead.

Plus after stacking and stuff
Hope that helps
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (raw-example.jpg)
165.5 KB37 views
Click for full-size image (corona-australis-iso-400-1hr-24min-28-subs-135mm-lens-.jpg)
197.6 KB39 views
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2010, 05:42 PM
mswhin63's Avatar
mswhin63 (Malcolm)
Registered User

mswhin63 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bertram, Western Australia
Posts: 3,327
I think most cameras are a bit on the red side, I find the same and align colours in the processing and come up with resonable shots. My camera is also unmodded but is a 450D
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-11-2010, 05:26 PM
Garyh's Avatar
Garyh
Amongst the stars

Garyh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Glen Innes, N.S.W.
Posts: 2,839
Hi Peter,
AS I remember you bought my modded 20D some time back. If this is the same camera, that would explain the red.
Just set the camera to custom white balance and should look more natural.
Might have to take a piccy of a white card or some white paper outside in the sun....
cheers Gary
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-11-2010, 07:34 AM
pmrid's Avatar
pmrid (Peter)
Ageing badly.

pmrid is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bribie Is.
Posts: 3,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garyh View Post
Hi Peter,
AS I remember you bought my modded 20D some time back. If this is the same camera, that would explain the red.
Hi Gary,
no mate, this is another cam - unmodified version. The modd'd one I bought from you has gone on to another happy home.
Peter
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-11-2010, 08:01 AM
pmrid's Avatar
pmrid (Peter)
Ageing badly.

pmrid is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bribie Is.
Posts: 3,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjjnettie View Post
Hope that helps
Hi Jeanette and thanks. That does help.
Peter
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 10:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astromechanics
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Star Adventurer
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Celestron RASA
Advertisement
EQ8-R
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement