#1  
Old 01-04-2020, 08:19 PM
HarryD (Greg)
Registered User

HarryD is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 119
QSI 683 problem

Hi

I have a problem with my QSI 683 wsg-8.

I cannot take an image, light, dark, bias etc using Sequence Generator Pro, even though it has all worked in the past.

I haven't used the camera for some time, maybe 12 months or so.

The cooler can still be controlled through SGP as can the filter wheel.
SGP connects to the camera with no problems. The camera goes through it's usual routine when connected to 12volts and then the light on the back goes from yellow to green.

I can take an image using Nebulosity.

I updated ASCOM and this is the latest SGP. Had the same problem with the previous version of SGP.

Any ideas?

Greg
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2020, 08:48 PM
peter_4059's Avatar
peter_4059 (Peter)
Big Scopes are Cool

peter_4059 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,196
Have you posted on SGP forum?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2020, 11:05 AM
Paul Haese's Avatar
Paul Haese
Registered User

Paul Haese is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 9,520
So the QSI is ok, it is the ability to link images is SGP? If that is the case then your issue is with the command programme. Perhaps a setting is not correct. I don't know that program, however having experience with other command programmes it will usually be some setting that is not correct. When you have ruled out a mechanical or electronic problem it must be the software.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-04-2020, 08:03 PM
rbronca
Registered User

rbronca is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 23
Which QSI driver have you installed?

The newer drivers are evil, with lots of people in the QSI forum having issues.

1.0.0.3 is solid and I personally have no issues with it and SGP 3.1.0.457 on a 683-wsg-8.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-04-2020, 02:06 PM
HarryD (Greg)
Registered User

HarryD is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 119
Thank you for all your kind suggestions.

After many emails to Andrew at QSI, trying 2 different PCs and USB cables, many updates and 3 different programs (SGP, Nebulosity and Astrophotography Tools) it seems to be a hardware problem with the camera.

Andrew said it can't be a firmware problem.

However with the Covid19 issue I can't send the camera over until the virus had passed.

Gives me time to save up for the shipping cost.

Regards
Greg
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-04-2020, 09:48 PM
rbronca
Registered User

rbronca is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 23
Ouch.

Pencil in somewhere north of 1K if they have to replace the motherboard. Unfortunately I'm very familiar with that - I have only had mine back for a couple of months. It will take about a month door to door.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 08:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astromechanics
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement