Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 27-01-2008, 09:58 AM
caleb
Registered User

caleb is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: gosford, australia
Posts: 206
how can i take images through my telescope with a typical digital camera

I have 3 cameras, 2 sony cybershots. one is a newer model and it has optical zoom, the "barrel" comes out of the front and i can fit it in the place where the eyepieces go. The only problem with this is that my maksutov it just takes a picture of the camera becuase of mirrors. I was thinking If i got a barlow this would stop the problem.
The only images i have taken are of the Moon and I had to put the camera upto the eyepiece lens. They look ok except i bump my telescope and its a bit hard to line it up.
so what can you tell me on this.

Last edited by caleb; 27-01-2008 at 09:59 AM. Reason: mistake
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-01-2008, 10:53 AM
acropolite's Avatar
acropolite (Phil)
Registered User

acropolite is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Launceston Tasmania
Posts: 8,985
You would be best to leave the eyepieces in situ and photograph through them (afocal), there are a number of adapters available for afocal photography. You could also try taking AVI's and stacking to obtain clearer images. It is possible to image by replacing the EP with the camera but usually the lens is removed from the camera e.g. DSLR. This how to on Astrophotography with a dob may give you some ideas.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-01-2008, 01:10 PM
caleb
Registered User

caleb is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: gosford, australia
Posts: 206
another problem iv had when setting exposures is that i can only have upto -2.0EV to +2.0EV. I asume this is aobut 2 secconds or even less. does this mean its the max exposure I can get?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-01-2008, 02:30 PM
omnivorr
Registered User

omnivorr is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 206
"-2.0EV to +2.0EV" is an exposure adjustment.. but not shutterspeed. More of a sensitivity thing. Best you read the manual.. lookup manual-mode settings..for your camera. Someone wiser might give you better advice... anyone??
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-01-2008, 02:53 PM
ballaratdragons's Avatar
ballaratdragons (Ken)
The 'DRAGON MAN'

ballaratdragons is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In the Dark at Snake Valley, Victoria
Posts: 14,412
Caleb, try here: http://www.barrie-tao.com/afocal.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 12:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement