#1  
Old 14-10-2008, 08:26 AM
White Rabbit's Avatar
White Rabbit
Space Cadet

White Rabbit is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,409
Questions with regards to the Canon 400d.

I'm in the process of buying a 400d and I see a lot of talk about getting it modded for astro photography. My questions are this.

If I dont get it modded can I still use it for astrophotography?
If I get it modded can I still take still life pictures?
Is it a good camera for astro work?

Thanks for your time.
Sandy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-10-2008, 08:33 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,272
Modification is done ONLY to increase the sensitivity to red (H-alpha hydrogen spectral line).
It is not essential for astro-photography at all.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-10-2008, 08:32 AM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,315
If you want a 400D body I was shopping around and saw these rather cheap ones for $656 Aust:

http://www.shoppingsafari.com.au/p_1...MERA_BODY_ONLY

Also 400D Kits from $759
http://www.shoppingsafari.com.au/c_180_Canon

Probably a grey imports though but that shouldn't really matter.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-10-2008, 09:27 AM
White Rabbit's Avatar
White Rabbit
Space Cadet

White Rabbit is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,409
Thanks guys.

I was actully going to buy it off off shopping safari.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-10-2008, 03:51 PM
madwayne's Avatar
madwayne (Wayne)
Registered User

madwayne is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Robertson NSW
Posts: 517
Sandy

Please keep in mind that once modded your new DSLR loses it's manufacturer's warranty. I'm sure you knew this but just in case.

Good luck with your purchase. I have one, well my wife "owns" it now, and it is a fantastic camera.

Regards
Wayne
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-10-2008, 04:52 PM
White Rabbit's Avatar
White Rabbit
Space Cadet

White Rabbit is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,409
Thanks.

Once the mod has been done can it be useed as regular camea?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16-10-2008, 05:03 PM
vindictive666's Avatar
vindictive666 (John)
KeyboardNotFndPressAnyKey

vindictive666 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: geraldton western australia
Posts: 1,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by White Rabbit View Post
Thanks.

Once the mod has been done can it be useed as regular camea?

i am sure it can however i think i read somewhere on the forums it going to give the pics more of a shade red ?

im sure someone else will jump in

do a search

hope this helps

regards john
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17-10-2008, 01:32 PM
White Rabbit's Avatar
White Rabbit
Space Cadet

White Rabbit is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,409
Thanks guys.

Well after much searching for a 400 D I couldnt find any instock, so I sideways graded as aposed to upgraded for a 1000D. Pulled the trigger today.
It's always a funny feeling when you end up getting something a little different from you wanted. I'd have prefered a 400d, but the 1000D does have some nice features that the 400D doesnt but then.

Total cost delivered to my door.
Canon 1000D standard lense not LS=$822

Ka ching.

thank you very muchly.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 12:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement