ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waning Gibbous
98.9%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
5:17 pm
Perth
3:17 pm
Auckland
7:17 pm
New York*
3:17 am
Paris*
9:17 am
GMT
7:17 am




  #1  
Old 16-12-2012, 02:31 PM
gaa_ian's Avatar
gaa_ian (Ian)
NT Stargazer

gaa_ian is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nhulunbuy N.T
Posts: 2,157
Comet Wirtanen meteors report

I am interested to find out what others saw of this new expected Meteor shower.For my part we saw at least a dozen of the so called "Piscid" meteors emanating from the circlet of Pisces.
This was on Friday night from the time Pisces became visible until about 11pm, so about 4 hours. We were doing more drinking than counting accurately, after all it was our Club Xmas party
It was however a stream of meteors clearly coming out of Pisces.
What did you see ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-12-2012, 05:23 PM
Suzy's Avatar
Suzy
Searching for Travolta...

Suzy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 3,018
Hi Ian,
Yes my daughter & I saw them.
Fortunately I knew about them before we started to observe the Geminids. We were laying down on the ground but my head was going in all different direction from both showers and I had to end up giving this one away. I didn't know it finished at 11 tho or that it was coming from Pisces, so that actually makes sense why I eventually gave up looking that way, cause there was nothing happening!
From between 10pm to 11pm I saw 5.
They were very short and very quick. I didn't see any long tails. It was very easy to see the difference between the two showers.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-12-2012, 09:16 PM
gaa_ian's Avatar
gaa_ian (Ian)
NT Stargazer

gaa_ian is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nhulunbuy N.T
Posts: 2,157
Hi Suzy
Great to see you got to observe some of the New Piscids !
I found them to be the same as you saw, bright & short .
It was amazing to see 3 Meteor showers at once. The Geminids, Hydrids & The new kid on the block "The Piscids"
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suzy View Post
Hi Ian,
Yes my daughter & I saw them.
Fortunately I knew about them before we started to observe the Geminids. We were laying down on the ground but my head was going in all different direction from both showers and I had to end up giving this one away. I didn't know it finished at 11 tho or that it was coming from Pisces, so that actually makes sense why I eventually gave up looking that way, cause there was nothing happening!
From between 10pm to 11pm I saw 5.
They were very short and very quick. I didn't see any long tails. It was very easy to see the difference between the two showers.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 05:17 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
iOptron SkyTracker
Advertisement
iOptron SkyTracker
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Nexstar SE at Optics Central
Advertisement
AS&T April 2014
Advertisement
Astronomy Alive
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement
Advertisement
10x IceInSpace Stickers