Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Equipment Discussions
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 16-01-2007, 09:06 PM
Bucky1379

Celestron Powerseeker 127 collimation advice needed

Hi

I'm old (51) but new to taking this "stuff" more seriously and am after some advice.

I recently bought a short tube Celestron Powerseeker 127 (due to portability, price and a good review I saw) but I believe it is in desperate need of collimation. The potential troubles I've found so far in doing this (and I've never done it before but want to) are -

1. With the additional lens mounted in the focuser to lengthen the effective focal length, I can only use a short length Cheshire/sight tube (I'm looking at getting the Andrews)

2. I haven't bought that yet because all I can see through the focuser anyway is the secondary and the spider arms. There is no sign of the edges of the primary or clips.

I am willing to centre spot the primary but I'm worried that I won't be able to collimate it myself anyway due to it's configuration.

Can anyone offer some advice?

Thanks for any help.

Steve Ma****er
Old 17-01-2007, 07:09 AM
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

Hi Steve

to IceInSpace!

Newtonians with built in barlows are always going to be very tricky to collimate. I've not done one myself so can't offer any specific advice - hopefully someone else will.

I hope the scope gets you hooked, you'll be looking to upgrade to bigger and better in the future
Old 17-01-2007, 08:33 AM
janoskiss (Steve H)

Welcome aboard Steve. I haven't any experience with built-in-barlow scopes either, but in principle it should be the same procedure as for a normal Newt. Whereabouts in Melbourne are you?
Old 17-01-2007, 08:11 PM
Bucky1379

Thanks

Hi guys