Go Back   IceInSpace > General Astronomy > General Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 15-09-2010, 07:34 PM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 7,935
Cheap webcams!!!

Morgan Computers in the UK is selling excess stock of the SPC 880 webcam.
These are physically identical to the SPC900nc model. They can be easily flashed to 900nc firmware.
A bargain at the price.
If you have problems getting them, I can buy some, flash them for you and post to Oz at cost.
PM me if I can help.
http://www.morgancomputers.co.uk/sho...CategoryID=522

Oh..they also sell the 1.25" nosepiece to go with it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-09-2010, 09:58 AM
renormalised's Avatar
renormalised (Carl)
No More Infinities

renormalised is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Townsville
Posts: 9,698
Cheap!!!!...the adapter's worth more than the camera!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-09-2010, 02:04 PM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,315
Yeah but the price is real cheap to boot.

Nice find Merlin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16-09-2010, 02:34 PM
mental4astro's Avatar
mental4astro (Alexander)
kids+wife+scopes=happyman

mental4astro is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 4,869
Please excuse my ignorance, but what is ment by being 'flashed'?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-09-2010, 02:41 PM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,315
"flashed" means the firmware (the inbuilt software that the device uses) is uploaded or written to the device.

In this case he is talking about "flashing" the device with Philips SPC900NC firmware so it not only looks but also performs just the same as the 900NC camera.

Why does the camera have different firmware?

Well...its like the QHY Q guider and Orion Starshoot autoguider. They are essentially the same camera but each has different firmware and so behaves slightly differently and are different in price.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-09-2010, 03:00 PM
mental4astro's Avatar
mental4astro (Alexander)
kids+wife+scopes=happyman

mental4astro is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 4,869
The camera I have is a Logitech webcam-to-astrocam conversion which I undertook following the instructions in the article in the Projects & Aritcles section. So, just how much better is this camera that Merlin notes is compared to my cheapie job? I'm not about to undertake serious photography, so something casual is what I'm after, but if it is significantly better, it might be worth upgrading.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16-09-2010, 03:04 PM
ballaratdragons's Avatar
ballaratdragons (Ken)
The 'DRAGON MAN'

ballaratdragons is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In the Dark at Snake Valley, Victoria
Posts: 14,412
Geez, I am sooooo tempted!

I have 2 Toucams now, do I really need some more?

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16-09-2010, 03:44 PM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,315
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballaratdragons View Post
Geez, I am sooooo tempted!

I have 2 Toucams now, do I really need some more?

I was thinking the same!

The SPC900NC is a very good planetary webcam. For that price...its a bargain.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16-09-2010, 03:51 PM
asimov's Avatar
asimov (John)
Planet photographer

asimov is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bundaberg
Posts: 8,819
Yep that's real cheap! Pity I have 2 as well like Ken.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16-09-2010, 03:54 PM
acropolite's Avatar
acropolite (Phil)
Registered User

acropolite is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Launceston Tasmania
Posts: 8,992
Thanks for the heads up, I've orered one with adapter, hopefully it will arrive OK.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 16-09-2010, 05:10 PM
astroron's Avatar
astroron (Ron)
Supernova Searcher

astroron is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cambroon Queensland Australia
Posts: 9,038
Would this type of camera be any good to take Comet Images
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 16-09-2010, 05:20 PM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 7,935
Ron,
Not really. It's a standard webcam which gives streaming video (AVI) at 1/60 or 1/30 sec exposure. You may be lucky if the Comet was bright enough to be able to use RegistxV5 to stack and enhance. The solution would be a webcam modified for long exposure...this would then allow a, say, 10 sec+ exposure to image faint Comets and DSO's.
The FOV due to the small chip size would also be a factor.

Ken
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 16-09-2010, 05:59 PM
astroron's Avatar
astroron (Ron)
Supernova Searcher

astroron is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cambroon Queensland Australia
Posts: 9,038
Thankyou Ken I didn't think it would , but thought I would ask anyway
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 16-09-2010, 06:21 PM
astroron's Avatar
astroron (Ron)
Supernova Searcher

astroron is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cambroon Queensland Australia
Posts: 9,038
Thanks Steve,It looks like I will just have to be happy looking at them in the 16' Scope or Bino's
By the way I had a few Pints of Guinness last night for the first time in a very long time
Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 16-09-2010, 06:57 PM
Stu Ward's Avatar
Stu Ward
Registered User

Stu Ward is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: wollongong
Posts: 523
I had a look and i could not work out how to get them to post to Aus ?

Anyone else get it ?

Stu
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 16-09-2010, 08:16 PM
acropolite's Avatar
acropolite (Phil)
Registered User

acropolite is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Launceston Tasmania
Posts: 8,992
I just checked out, took me a while to realise that prices include postage, I'll let them figure it out.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 16-09-2010, 09:25 PM
omnivorr
Registered User

omnivorr is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu Ward View Post
I had a look and i could not work out how to get them to post to Aus ?

Anyone else get it ?

Stu
add items to cart... add 'overseas shipping' to cart....
give them your address.... make payment.

simple really.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 16-09-2010, 09:36 PM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 7,935
Since I complained to them a few days ago they have added the "Overseas postage" option.
If you still want me to buy, flash and ship these cameras that's still OK with me.
I'll close this offer after the weekend and see how many want to get them this way.
Ken
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 16-09-2010, 09:40 PM
renormalised's Avatar
renormalised (Carl)
No More Infinities

renormalised is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Townsville
Posts: 9,698
Might be the best way to get them, Ken.

How much would you want for them??
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 16-09-2010, 09:44 PM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 7,935
Just the normal Morgan's UK price plus postage to Oz at cost. No margins
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 08:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement