ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Gibbous
84%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
3:12 am
Perth
12:12 am
Auckland*
5:12 am
New York*
12:12 pm
Paris*
6:12 pm
GMT
4:12 pm




Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > DIY Observatories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 18-10-2017, 03:10 PM
strongmanmike's Avatar
strongmanmike (Michael)
Woohoo it's clear

strongmanmike is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canberra
Posts: 14,085
Max Dome II on a Sirius dome

Sick of being a mule that has to rotate the dome all night while imaging...I am considering upgrading my Sirius 2.3m dome

I have a question, what do people use to control the slaving of their dome opening via Max Dome II so it follows their scope?

Is anyone using the Astro Electronic FSQ mount controller in their mix?

Cheers

Mike

Last edited by strongmanmike; 18-10-2017 at 04:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-10-2017, 05:44 PM
lazjen's Avatar
lazjen (Chris)
PI cult member

lazjen is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,551
I just use the ASCOM Dome controller - it hooks up with the dome plus scope and keeps them in sync. You can configure it for your setup and turn off sync if you want as well - that can be useful when doing a meridian flip as it can chase the scope during that time.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-10-2017, 07:15 AM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,065
You will be needing to purchase the hardware kit for the dome as well as the maxdome card and software. I used the ascom driver after unsuccessfully trying other proprietary software. Marcus was about help for me looking at the setup. Siruis has a new owner now so not sure how the kit availability is but I say you already have enquired?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-10-2017, 10:23 AM
strongmanmike's Avatar
strongmanmike (Michael)
Woohoo it's clear

strongmanmike is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canberra
Posts: 14,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by lazjen View Post
I just use the ASCOM Dome controller - it hooks up with the dome plus scope and keeps them in sync. You can configure it for your setup and turn off sync if you want as well - that can be useful when doing a meridian flip as it can chase the scope during that time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by h0ughy View Post
You will be needing to purchase the hardware kit for the dome as well as the maxdome card and software. I used the ascom driver after unsuccessfully trying other proprietary software. Marcus was about help for me looking at the setup. Siruis has a new owner now so not sure how the kit availability is but I say you already have enquired?
Dave, I am thinking of completely upgrading to a new Sirius 2.3m observatory or a dome only option, with automated dome tracking.

Ok, so the hardware (board) supplied by Sirius, that interfaces with the dome motorisation, comes with a stand alone bit of software that can communicate with what ever Planetarium program (I use STAR Atlas pro) you are using to control your mount, is this correct?

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19-10-2017, 11:22 AM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,065
Mike it's just a question of retrofitted to your existing dome. Hammer drill screwdriver and some colourful language and you too can enjoy the experience of a lifetime. No biggie ��

Installing the kit was OK, getting it to work should be as well but I must have been holding the door for all the others who successfully got it to work. I bought automadome from software biscuit and bought a licensed version of the sky 6 and couldn't get the thing to work. So just gave it up and used ascom driver and the Gemini software for the Mount. Should work on with staratlaspro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19-10-2017, 02:14 PM
DavidTrap's Avatar
DavidTrap (David)
Really just a beginner

DavidTrap is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,791
Talk to Brett Soames - he builds a very nice ROR.

DT
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19-10-2017, 05:37 PM
strongmanmike's Avatar
strongmanmike (Michael)
Woohoo it's clear

strongmanmike is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canberra
Posts: 14,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidTrap View Post
Talk to Brett Soames - he builds a very nice ROR.

DT
ROR??? NEVER!!!!!!!! I'm a dome only man

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19-10-2017, 05:40 PM
strongmanmike's Avatar
strongmanmike (Michael)
Woohoo it's clear

strongmanmike is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canberra
Posts: 14,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by h0ughy View Post
Mike it's just a question of retrofitted to your existing dome. Hammer drill screwdriver and some colourful language and you too can enjoy the experience of a lifetime. No biggie ��

Installing the kit was OK, getting it to work should be as well but I must have been holding the door for all the others who successfully got it to work. I bought automadome from software biscuit and bought a licensed version of the sky 6 and couldn't get the thing to work. So just gave it up and used ascom driver and the Gemini software for the Mount. Should work on with staratlaspro
So I am still not too clear (ex strongman ), what exactly comes with the dome to enable automated rotation and how would I actually interface everything, if say, I was using STAR Atlas Pro to control my mount, any idea?

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19-10-2017, 06:37 PM
lazjen's Avatar
lazjen (Chris)
PI cult member

lazjen is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,551
That's what I sort of saying in my original post - so long as you get the kit to add to the dome (the hardware and control box), connect it to your PC, and have ASCOM drivers for your mount, the ASCOM dome control will do all the rest for you. Download it and fire it up to see what I mean. It's connection to the mount via ASCOM is "read only" and doesn't interefere with other applications.

Note that rotation is one part, you can get more stuff to open/close the shutters as well (I don't have the hardware bits for that).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19-10-2017, 08:02 PM
AstroJunk's Avatar
AstroJunk (Jonathan)
Shadow Chaser

AstroJunk is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,612
ASCOM has a utility called POTH (Plain Old Telescope Hub). It connects to your telescope, dome and optionally, focuser. When you use your favourite program to control the telescope, you select POTH rather than the telescope itself and POTH will transfer those commands to the scope as well as automagically slewing the dome and keeping it in sync without you ever having to worry about it.

POTH has loads of other great features too, but that's for a later date

Takes a bit of setting up and getting used to, but once it's up and running, you will never look back!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 19-10-2017, 11:06 PM
DavidTrap's Avatar
DavidTrap (David)
Really just a beginner

DavidTrap is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by strongmanmike View Post
ROR??? NEVER!!!!!!!! I'm a dome only man

Mike
More room, less mechanical points of failure. 😉

DT
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 20-10-2017, 10:14 AM
strongmanmike's Avatar
strongmanmike (Michael)
Woohoo it's clear

strongmanmike is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canberra
Posts: 14,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidTrap View Post
More room, less mechanical points of failure. ��

DT
I was just kidding Dave ..roll offs are good too, particularly if you want to look at the sky with wider field shots. Having gone from fully exposed outside to fully protected inside a dome, with no noticeable detrimental effects except squishiness (I need to lose weight), I am completely sold on the full protection of a dome.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 20-10-2017, 10:15 AM
strongmanmike's Avatar
strongmanmike (Michael)
Woohoo it's clear

strongmanmike is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canberra
Posts: 14,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by lazjen View Post
That's what I sort of saying in my original post - so long as you get the kit to add to the dome (the hardware and control box), connect it to your PC, and have ASCOM drivers for your mount, the ASCOM dome control will do all the rest for you. Download it and fire it up to see what I mean. It's connection to the mount via ASCOM is "read only" and doesn't interefere with other applications.

Note that rotation is one part, you can get more stuff to open/close the shutters as well (I don't have the hardware bits for that).
Quote:
Originally Posted by AstroJunk View Post
ASCOM has a utility called POTH (Plain Old Telescope Hub). It connects to your telescope, dome and optionally, focuser. When you use your favourite program to control the telescope, you select POTH rather than the telescope itself and POTH will transfer those commands to the scope as well as automagically slewing the dome and keeping it in sync without you ever having to worry about it.

POTH has loads of other great features too, but that's for a later date

Takes a bit of setting up and getting used to, but once it's up and running, you will never look back!
Thanks for the feedback guys, visited a few websites and I think I have a better understanding now. When the time comes I may need to pick some more brains though

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 23-10-2017, 11:26 PM
allan gould's Avatar
allan gould
Registered User

allan gould is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,475
I use the Sirius dome kit with Max dome 2 to control my roof. Used to use ascom driver but there was a fault some where in the system which made tracking off so that you had to fiddle the parameters to get it to track well with the scope. In the end I found the SGPro would do it better and that's what I now use.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 24-10-2017, 01:29 PM
DavidTrap's Avatar
DavidTrap (David)
Really just a beginner

DavidTrap is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by strongmanmike View Post
I was just kidding Dave ..roll offs are good too, particularly if you want to look at the sky with wider field shots. Having gone from fully exposed outside to fully protected inside a dome, with no noticeable detrimental effects except squishiness (I need to lose weight), I am completely sold on the full protection of a dome.

Mike
But you can't put two piers in a dome

DT
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 24-10-2017, 01:44 PM
lazjen's Avatar
lazjen (Chris)
PI cult member

lazjen is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidTrap View Post
But you can't put two piers in a dome
Actually, you could, depending on the dome size. It would not be ideal though.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 24-10-2017, 04:57 PM
strongmanmike's Avatar
strongmanmike (Michael)
Woohoo it's clear

strongmanmike is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canberra
Posts: 14,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidTrap View Post
But you can't put two piers in a dome

DT
true...but you can put two scopes on a mighty Tak NJP!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 27-10-2017, 05:43 PM
stefang's Avatar
stefang (Stefan)
Registered User

stefang is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Willoughby East
Posts: 101
Exqeeze Me

Quote:
Originally Posted by strongmanmike View Post
true...but you can put two scopes on a mighty Tak NJP!
Or 4 with SOPHIA, a 10Micron HPS 3000 baby!
sG
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 27-10-2017, 11:38 PM
strongmanmike's Avatar
strongmanmike (Michael)
Woohoo it's clear

strongmanmike is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canberra
Posts: 14,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefang View Post
Or 4 with SOPHIA, a 10Micron HPS 3000 baby!
sG
True...I must concede defeat......I did feel like humping the NJP though, when it performed with a 100kg total load
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 02:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Atik Horizon
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement