Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-03-2008, 03:38 PM
rider
2 screw loose stargazers

understanding eyepiece FOV

Greetings all

OK, I’m relatively new at this and I am trying to get an understanding of the factors which influence eye-piece selection. (other than quality)

These are my assumptions. Please free to correct my misunderstandings.

Assuming the same scope is used, I think that the real view from a particular lens is a function of
-Magnification (as defined by the MM of the lens X the focal length of the scope)
- Apparent Field Of View (as defined by eye piece manufacturer)

If this is so,

Am I right in assuming that for a 2500 F.L. telescope, a 16mm lens with a AFOV of 82 degrees will provide much the same view as a 30 mm lens with a AFOV of 43 degrees

Both end up with a 0.5 -ish view

I think they will both have the same area of stars in frame, so would duplicate each other.

Am I missing something.

Rider
Old 12-03-2008, 04:21 PM
programmer
Computer tragic

According to this calculator you're correct (.52 in the first case, .5 in the second)
Old 12-03-2008, 04:26 PM
Dennis
Dazzled by the Cosmos.

Hi Rider

The magnification and limiting magnitude would be different, shown in the example from SkyTools below:

16mm 82 degrees.
FOV 31.5 min
Magnification 156.2
Dawes limit 0.5”
Magnitude 15.6

30mm 43 degrees.
FOV 31 min
Magnification 83.3
Dawes limit 0.5”
Magnitude 15.3

Cheers

Dennis
Old 12-03-2008, 05:25 PM
ngcles
The Observologist

Hi Rider,

Rider wrote:

"I think they will both have the same area of stars in frame, so would duplicate each other." (emphasis added)

The calculations by Dennis are spot on -- but only tell half the story. To answer the second part of your question as reproduced.