#1  
Old 16-06-2008, 07:08 PM
Babalyon 5
Registered User

Babalyon 5 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 181
Cannon 40d Question

Howdy all,
Just a question regarding exposure time with the 40d. If fi do some set up & framing shots at 30 seconds, I always get an image on my screen of at least some stars etc, When I try to do a 2 min exposure, why do I end up with a black frame & no image, I will try longer exposures, just would've thought any exposure lenght wouldve done ok if 30 secs shows an image.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-06-2008, 07:13 PM
Bassnut's Avatar
Bassnut (Fred)
Narrowfield rules!

Bassnut is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,772
are you interupting proceedings whilst dark exposure is in progress (assuming a dark is enabled after every image)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-06-2008, 09:16 PM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
Are you talking about no image on the back of your camera at the end of 2 min or no image after processing a 2 min image on your computer?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17-06-2008, 06:49 AM
Babalyon 5
Registered User

Babalyon 5 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 181
Doh!

Doh! Im talking about not pushing the button to the lock position on the release cable which, when you let the button go, gives you a 1sec exposure.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17-06-2008, 08:36 AM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
Ahhh well that would do it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17-06-2008, 08:48 AM
RB's Avatar
RB (Andrew)
Moderator

RB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 22,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by Babalyon 5 View Post
Doh! Im talking about not pushing the button to the lock position on the release cable which, when you let the button go, gives you a 1sec exposure.
Yep it's not hard to fall into that trap.

All is not lost though, you could almost use it as a bias frame.......
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 04:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement