Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 20-04-2009, 11:52 AM
damo_Melbourne (Damian)
Registered User

damo_Melbourne is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 62
Time between DSLR shots - how long is required?

Hi all,

Im using Canon Utils to fire off a sequence of shots with my 450D and Ed80. Currrently I normally fire off a sequence of 10 x 1 min .... I usually leave 10 - 15 secs between each shot.
Is this enough? Does it matter? Is there an optimal amount of time?

Currently waiting on my QHY5 to arrive so I can begin longer exposures so when guiding and taking longer subs does this time become longer?

many thanks
Damian
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20-04-2009, 12:43 PM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,158
Damian,

I've always just had a gap of 10 seconds between exposures, plus 3 seconds or so for mirror-lockup/dampening.

Regards,
Humayun
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20-04-2009, 08:57 PM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 10,804
I only use and need 7 seconds between shots, this is plenty of time for download.

Leon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-04-2009, 08:48 AM
damo_Melbourne (Damian)
Registered User

damo_Melbourne is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 62
Excellent! Im on the right track!
thanks Leon and Humayun
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-04-2009, 10:49 AM
allan gould's Avatar
allan gould
Registered User

allan gould is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,481
I have a 20D modded by Eric Styles. I always leave 30 sec between shots for download and for the "chip" to cool before another shot. Don't know if its absolutely necessary but it works for me and I havn't changed it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21-04-2009, 05:18 PM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
I'm with Allan. 30 sec for chip cool and preview if i want to.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21-04-2009, 11:53 PM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,158
Oh, yeah, forgot to mention, I've disabled the previewing.

Just let the images download directly to the PC, let the camera take the next shot, whilst you load up your RAWs for examination on the notebook.

Regards,
Humayun
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 02:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement