#1  
Old 04-10-2010, 10:40 PM
garymck (Gary)
Registered User

garymck is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Geelong
Posts: 701
QHY5 not working in Win 7 64 bit.......

Hi
badly need some help!

I am unable to use my qhy5 (which was reflashed to a qguider after early driver problems several years ago soon after I bought it).

Have changed Windows versions with a new windows install (complete install, not upgrade). I was previously using 32 bit Windows Vista 32, but have just switched to using Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit.

Have installed ascom and latest ascom updates.

Have installed latest QHY driver for QHY5 and also firm update.

Driver appears to install correctly.

In PHD select ASCOM V5 Camera, cmos guider QHY5 , camera appears to connect, but as soon as I try to loop exposures I get get error message

"failed with error 121: the semaphore timeout period has expired"

The only way to kill PHD is via task manager. Same thing happens in Maxim 5.12 except that Maxim can be killed without resorting to task manager.

I might add that my QHY8 is working perfectly in the same system....... Have posted on QHYCCD forums, but not had an answer.....

Help MUCH appreciated as am not able to go back to Vista as Laptop has to run Win 7 64 for a work related program.....

cheers
Gary
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2010, 03:10 PM
marki's Avatar
marki
Waiting for next electron

marki is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,427
Best headover to the qhy forum and ask Tom or Theo.

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-2010, 05:04 PM
garymck (Gary)
Registered User

garymck is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Geelong
Posts: 701
Have already posted to QHYCCD forum and had no answer, just spoke to Theo and have a couple of ideas to try....

cheers
Gary
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2010, 05:24 PM
mill's Avatar
mill (Martin)
sword collector

mill is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mount Evelyn
Posts: 2,922
I personally never use the ascom driver in win7 because i never had it working.
In PHD i always use the qguider driver and that works well.
Why do you want to use the ascom driver anyway?
If it aint broke dont fix it
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-2010, 10:33 PM
garymck (Gary)
Registered User

garymck is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Geelong
Posts: 701
which driver version are you using - I tried a couple but none of them worked???

Quote:
Originally Posted by mill View Post
I personally never use the ascom driver in win7 because i never had it working.
In PHD i always use the qguider driver and that works well.
Why do you want to use the ascom driver anyway?
If it aint broke dont fix it
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-10-2010, 09:13 PM
mill's Avatar
mill (Martin)
sword collector

mill is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mount Evelyn
Posts: 2,922
I am using the 32/64bit driver >>>> http://qhyccd.com/download.html
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-10-2010, 10:12 PM
garymck (Gary)
Registered User

garymck is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Geelong
Posts: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by mill View Post
I am using the 32/64bit driver >>>> http://qhyccd.com/download.html
That's one I tried, doesn't connect as either ascom or qguide in phd.... :-(

Gary
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-10-2010, 09:59 PM
garymck (Gary)
Registered User

garymck is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Geelong
Posts: 701
Fixed

My connection problems are now fixed thanks to Theo from Gama Electronics....the problem was that the QHY5 had been reflashed to a QGuider soon after I bought it due to original driver issues. It seems that the new drivers no longer support the QGuider, so Theo converted it back to its original generic QHY5 mode. Connected straight away....Great service again..who else would get you to bring it around to their home after work and fix it for free outside the warranty period..?

cheers
Gary
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-10-2010, 10:30 PM
Astroman's Avatar
Astroman (Andrew Wall)
<><><><>

Astroman is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Paralowie, South Australia
Posts: 4,355
Great service! I am considering the QHY5 guider over the Orion Autoguider, so was watching with interest about your little problem, glad you got it all sorted out in the end.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 06:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astromechanics
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement