Go Back   IceInSpace > Images > Deep Space
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-06-2015, 12:41 PM
Retrograde (Pete)
a.k.a. @AstroscapePete

First go at Rho

Hi all,

this is my first attempt at the Antares/Rho Ophiuci complex. It was also the first real test of a recently acquired Pentax 6x7 165mm f2.8 lens.

I did previously attempt a couple of quick test pics with the lens wide open at f2.8 but found the CA around bright stars far too intrusive. This one is stopped down to f4 (hence the diffraction spikes) and although some CA remained it was reduced enough that I was able to remove most of it in processing. Unfortunately I wasn't able to keep much colour in most of the stars. Hopefully at f5.6 CA will be almost negligible so I'll try that next.

Ended up using just 4 x 4 min un-guided subs (each sub was actually 4 x 1 min using the camera's multi-exposure mode) through a Pentax K-5 DSLR (unmodded).

Somewhat larger version at Astrobin http://www.astrobin.com/full/184790/0/
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (RhoOphiucus_sm.jpg)
181.7 KB106 views
Old 10-06-2015, 01:42 PM
traveller (Bo)
Not enough time and money

Very good Pete, I'd be chuffed with a shot like that.
Old 10-06-2015, 04:08 PM
rustigsmed (Russell)

Nice one Pete!
Old 11-06-2015, 12:58 AM
strongmanmike (Michael)
Highest Observatory in Oz

That's pretty good Pete and what ever CA was present you look to have handled it quite well. I would love to have ago with some old Pentax 6X7 lenses with my big FLI ProlIne some day. I used to use a Pentax 6X7 and various lenses back in the mid 80's with some success using film, here's some Halley's shots

Show us how F5.6 goes

Mike
Old 11-06-2015, 02:15 PM
Retrograde (Pete)
a.k.a. @AstroscapePete

Quote:
Originally Posted by traveller View Post
Very good Pete, I'd be chuffed with a shot like that.
Thanks Bo - appreciate the comment!

Quote:
Originally Posted by rustigsmed View Post
Nice one Pete!
Thanks Russell.

Quote: