Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-03-2005, 11:12 PM
Moonman (Michael)
Caveman Astronomy

Lunar Obs

Greetings All

Anyone who has a bend for lunar observation drop me a line. I am a wrank beginner with a very basic reflector which really seems to only get a good view of the moon and some planetary observation. Speaking of which I travelled to just outside of Longford (Tas) some time ago to sucessfully find Mercury and had the good fortune to observe it setting over the Western Tiers. Ripping stuff I'm sure for all of you but I just pleased to have set out on a specific observational task and to actually be sucessfull was quite exciting.

Anyway the scope is quite OK for Lunar obs. and as I have no plans at this stage to get further equipment I am quite content to start here for the time being.

Regards
Moonman
Old 06-03-2005, 11:20 PM
rumples riot
Who knows

The moon has lots of features that are worth having a look at. There is the straight wall, hadleys rille, numerous craters (some that are best seen at different times of the cycle), mountains also to be seen. Some interesting stuff around the terminator when mountains appear out of pure black. Some times also glints of the sun can be seen for the briefest of moments. My suggestion is to get a good Lunar atlas and go cruising. Plenty to keep you busy for lots of years.
Old 06-03-2005, 11:29 PM
Moonman (Michael)
Caveman Astronomy

Smile Thanks

Dear Paul,

I will remember your saying when I attempt to operate my telescope.

Regards
Moonman
Old 07-03-2005, 06:32 AM
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

Hi Moonman.

to the forum! How did you hear about us?

You don't need a big expensive scope to observe the moon. It's a great target for any telescope and it's your perseverance and passion that matter more.