Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-09-2007, 10:41 PM
ozfifer

Which Dobsonian??

Hi, Im new to all this and have been looking at getting a dobsonian for ease of use and price. Ive been on a few websites and bought a couple of mags, and am tossing up between the Bintel BT202 8", Gaun Sheng GS-680 8", or the Sky Watcher SW680 8". I would look at going up to a 10" model if it was around the $600 mark.

Any advice on what to buy or what i should be looking out for when buying a dobsonian would be greatly appreciated.
Im in WA so not sure if there are a lot of places who would stock the said telescopes.

Thanks.
Regards, Ozfifer
Old 08-09-2007, 10:52 PM
ballaratdragons (Ken)
The 'DRAGON MAN'

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozfifer View Post
and am tossing up between the Bintel BT202 8", Gaun Sheng GS-680 8", or the Sky Watcher SW680 8".
Regards, Ozfifer
Hi Oz, welcome.

The BT202 8" and the Guan Sheng GS-680 8" are the same scope. The only difference is that Bintel put a Bintel sticker on it.

But as far as service goes, there is some differences. One shop that sells the GS scopes don't service them (cheapest dealer). Bintel does (slightly dearer). Some people are happy to buy it cheaper and forget about service. Others are happy to pay the bit extra for peace of mind knowing that Bintel will repair and service.

It's entirely up to you, but they are the same scope.

As far as the Skywatcher goes, I don't think it comes with the better 'Crayford Focuser', which is a fantastic focuser. Many people without one upgrade to one.

As far as quality of optics, they are all pretty well identical.

I hope that helps.
Old 08-09-2007, 10:58 PM
xelasnave
Gravity does not Suck

Welcome to Iceinspace Ozfifer.
Whatever you get will be the right choice and yet you will then want yet another scope as ther eis always a bigger one somewhere... I have seen 10 inch scopes cheap in the buy and sell section herein.