Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 14-06-2005, 08:49 PM
Darkplague
Mark

Binocular advice

Hi all,

I'm a relative newbie to astronomy and am interested in getting some binoculars as a start. I have found some on e-bay, they are 10x50, with bak-7 porro prisms. But the coating is a ruby red coat. (multicoated). Is this good for night viewing at all? If not, what kind of coat is?

My first scope was a meade ar-6 refractor with goto. (Trufflehunters).
I have now regretfully sold it as I can't use it in my backyard without making all the dogs bark because of the goto drives. It became too annoying, everytime I would use the goto, all the neigbourhood dogs would go nuts.
Now I am getting a 10" dob with the crayfish focuser instead.
I hope this scope isnt as noisy :+)

Anyway nice to meet you all and hope to post some more in the future!

Mark
Old 14-06-2005, 09:05 PM
toetoe (Peter)
Always Trying

I am sure someone here could help you Mark, i know nothing about binocs as yet.
Shame to hear about the dogs making you get rid of the scope but you sound like you have made a good choice with the dob. I have a problem with the cat smooching against the tripod.
Old 14-06-2005, 09:14 PM
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

I just heard all the Dobbers going "Crayford!!!" "Not Crayfish" You've made my night Mark. Thanks.