ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
23.5%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
2:19 pm
Perth
12:19 pm
Auckland*
5:19 pm
New York*
12:19 am
Paris*
6:19 am
GMT
4:19 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > Images > Deep Space

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #41  
Old 14-09-2017, 07:04 AM
Slawomir's Avatar
Slawomir (Suavi)
PI cult member

Slawomir is online now
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,101
Very nice photograph Mike. I always like how you balance colours in your images and data processing seems to be always gentle yet allowing to show interesting and faint structures
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 14-09-2017, 10:33 AM
strongmanmike's Avatar
strongmanmike (Michael)
Woohoo it's clear

strongmanmike is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canberra
Posts: 13,102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slawomir View Post
Very nice photograph Mike. I always like how you balance colours in your images and data processing seems to be always gentle yet allowing to show interesting and faint structures
Cheers Suavi, glad you think so .. not perfect but I try my best with what I have ...hey, I was quite surprised it didn't stack up against the CHART32 result though ...but I think that must simply be the difference in focal length

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 14-09-2017, 04:44 PM
Slawomir's Avatar
Slawomir (Suavi)
PI cult member

Slawomir is online now
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,101
I think it compares quite well with Chart32 image of the same target

Perhaps one difference being they appear to do on average about 8hrs of Lum per image and their RGB data seems to be 2hrs per channel?

Similar to Paul, because of your work I have been seriously contemplating a fast Newtonian, only a bit concerned about possible challenges associated with venturing into fast reflector territory.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 14-09-2017, 06:39 PM
strongmanmike's Avatar
strongmanmike (Michael)
Woohoo it's clear

strongmanmike is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canberra
Posts: 13,102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slawomir View Post
Similar to Paul, because of your work I have been seriously contemplating a fast Newtonian, only a bit concerned about possible challenges associated with venturing into fast reflector territory.
Oooh look out don't let the upstairs Downton Abbey imagers hear the footman say that! One must buy only the finest exotic European optics in order to maintain the strong feeling of imaging superiority and hubris

Seriously, while you really can't compare imaging times between such vastly different rigs under such vastly different skies...as I have said before, the only reason I don't take more exposure time (most of the time) is cause I am not automated and I am probably a little lazy Having said that, I do agree my lackey micro focal length NGC 1398 could do with some more exposure

Go for it, the more fast Newtonians out there the more we can take it to the old fashioned long focal length tribe (NB. that was a harmless little joke all you long focal length folk).

Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 02:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement