#1  
Old 22-05-2009, 03:06 PM
outwestwa
Registered User

outwestwa is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tom Price
Posts: 28
Canon DSLR power supply

Iíve being looking for an alternative power supply instead of using batteries or 240v for my Canon 20D, from what Iím reading on the forum here it appears that other people looking for the same type thing a 12VDC power supply using your car cigarette lighter socket . This may be the answer? I'll know next week when i get all the parts and try it out. http://www.danielmccauley.com/datasheets/datasheet_8vsupply01.pdf
Laurie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22-05-2009, 04:18 PM
RB's Avatar
RB (Andrew)
Moderator

RB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21,914
Laurie I can highly recommend it, as I built one for Houghy last year.
He sent me the article and I put it together for him.
See this thread: http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/s...ighlight=power

Works flawlessly and I'm thinking of building one for myself.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22-05-2009, 05:26 PM
mldee's Avatar
mldee (Mike)
Gadget freak

mldee is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Warwick, Qld, Australia
Posts: 513
Don't really know if it's relevant, but I presently use a 1000d for imaging, and it's powered by a Jaycar pre-settable 12VDC-xVDC power supply that puts out a nominal 7.5V, although my digital multimeter says it's 8.01 volts steady. If you're interested, I can find the PN.

I then bought on Ebay a Canon external AC power pack which included the battery gizmo and the power cord. I cut the connection to the AC supply bizzo and soldered on a socket from Jaycar to match the plug on the 12V supply. Can send you details also.

To cut a long story short, for about $40, I have a good 12V external supply for my 1000d. Works well.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-05-2009, 07:50 PM
cfranks (Charles)
Registered User

cfranks is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tungkillo, South Australia
Posts: 599
I've done the same as mldee but feed the Canon battery gizmo with a 2 cell LiPo battery = 7.4v for portability.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25-05-2009, 10:43 AM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,312
I had a look at the schematic. It really needs some over volts protection on the output...lets say a 10Volt zener...and maybe some over current foldback!

His cct really need some extra output protection...you cannot be too careful with you camera.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25-05-2009, 03:42 PM
outwestwa
Registered User

outwestwa is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tom Price
Posts: 28
Thanks for the feed back the way I’ve decided to go is the quick and easy way with the Regulated DC-DC Converter with an Output voltage of 7.5 from jaycar the same as Mike and the canon dc-400 coupler that I ordered from the UK on the weekend. (Only $10 how cheap is that)
Laurie
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement