#1  
Old 17-11-2009, 04:35 PM
michaellxv's Avatar
michaellxv (Michael)
Registered User

michaellxv is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,577
Help-AVI's won't load

Last night I captured some AVI's using wxAtroCapture and I am having trouble getting anything to load/play them.

As my tracking was good enough last night and little wind I let each one run for 5min, the AVI's are now 3.5Gb each (didn't realise they would be that big). I did one at a slower frame rate so is only .5Gb.

The 3.5Gb files won't load into ReiStax (not surprised there) but they won't play in MediaPlayer although QuickTime could play them.
The .5Gb file will load into RegiStax ok and has no problem in MediaPlayer.

I put the 3.5Gb file on another PC which has extra codecs and it could be played. I used Adobe Premier Lite to cut it down to a .5Gb file. Took this back to the original PC. MediaPlayer can play it but RegiStax still won't load it.

What's going on here? Anything I can run these files through so that I will be able to process them?

Michael.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17-11-2009, 04:49 PM
jjjnettie's Avatar
jjjnettie (Jeanette)
Registered User

jjjnettie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Far Far Away
Posts: 16,726
Hi Michael,
You'll need to download a copy of Virtual Dub. (it's free)
Open your .avi, go to File, then "Save Old Format Avi. "
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-11-2009, 05:41 PM
michaellxv's Avatar
michaellxv (Michael)
Registered User

michaellxv is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,577
Thanks,

that's the first hurdle, now to see if there is anything usefull in there.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17-11-2009, 05:45 PM
jjjnettie's Avatar
jjjnettie (Jeanette)
Registered User

jjjnettie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Far Far Away
Posts: 16,726
You'll do fine. Post the results won't you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17-11-2009, 11:03 PM
michaellxv's Avatar
michaellxv (Michael)
Registered User

michaellxv is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,577
prepare to be disappointed

Well I wasn't expecting miracles but I thought I could extract a bit of a band through Jupiter.

I guess I am just going to have to spring for a better camera than this. My $0 experiment has proved a couple of things.

1. a quickcam express just isn't good enough - some people just can't be told
2. it did work ok for the moon
3. on a good night I can track Jupiter in the FOV of the camera for at least 30min
4. i have a lot to learn

Anyway here is the ... ahem... masterpiece

Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (jupiter_20091116.jpg)
5.3 KB12 views
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17-11-2009, 11:55 PM
jjjnettie's Avatar
jjjnettie (Jeanette)
Registered User

jjjnettie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Far Far Away
Posts: 16,726
I'm glad you got the .avi's sorted out.
LOL We've all got to start somewhere.
Thanks for sharing it with us.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18-11-2009, 08:59 AM
White Rabbit's Avatar
White Rabbit
Space Cadet

White Rabbit is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,409
I've never imaged jupiter in my life so take what I say with a pinch of salt but it looks like your focus might be out a little and thats why you're not picking up any of the bands. Also jupiter is really bright so you need to tame the glare in order to bring out some of the details (this is from visual experience).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18-11-2009, 11:36 AM
michaellxv's Avatar
michaellxv (Michael)
Registered User

michaellxv is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,577
Yes, definately having trouble focusing. All part of the fun.
This is fun isn't it?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18-11-2009, 11:43 AM
jjjnettie's Avatar
jjjnettie (Jeanette)
Registered User

jjjnettie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Far Far Away
Posts: 16,726
Sure it's fun.
And it just keeps on getting funnier.
LOLOL
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18-11-2009, 11:49 AM
jjjnettie's Avatar
jjjnettie (Jeanette)
Registered User

jjjnettie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Far Far Away
Posts: 16,726
My learning curve has been one big comedy of errors.
It keeps me laughing though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 08:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement