#1  
Old 28-02-2010, 07:26 PM
that_guy's Avatar
that_guy (Tony)
Local Korean Millennial

that_guy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 1,972
A nooby question

I have a webcam which is connected to my 8" dob (just for planetary). The webcam is connected to the telescope with out the eyepiece with a a film case hot glued on. But All I see is light and the secondary mirror... What am I doing Wrong??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28-02-2010, 07:33 PM
that_guy's Avatar
that_guy (Tony)
Local Korean Millennial

that_guy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 1,972
also K3CCDTools only works once then the preview stops working...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28-02-2010, 07:36 PM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
You may not have enough infocus. ? The chip needs to be positioned at the same place the innermost lens of an eyepiece sits. Well that's my crude way of putting it. I don't use eyepieces so
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28-02-2010, 07:38 PM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
What sort of webcam is it? Are you sure its supported by K3 and are you using VfW or WDM under the device menu
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28-02-2010, 07:43 PM
that_guy's Avatar
that_guy (Tony)
Local Korean Millennial

that_guy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 1,972
It works with K3 for a while and after I turn it off and turn it back on, It stops working

Also the webcam is a very old (say 5 years) and I can;t even find the specification on it on the web!! So I don't know what kind of chip it got
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28-02-2010, 07:47 PM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
Turn K3 off or the webcam?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-02-2010, 07:49 PM
that_guy's Avatar
that_guy (Tony)
Local Korean Millennial

that_guy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 1,972
k3
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-02-2010, 07:54 PM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
Ok, sounds more like a driver problem. Do you disconnect the camera before restarting K3?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28-02-2010, 07:56 PM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
Sorry I meant to ask. If you disconnect the camera and reconnect to you still have the same problem?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28-02-2010, 08:04 PM
that_guy's Avatar
that_guy (Tony)
Local Korean Millennial

that_guy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 1,972
yes, i have to keep reinstalling the software to make it work then when i close it and open it nothing...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 28-02-2010, 08:53 PM
duncan's Avatar
duncan
Duncan

duncan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Weipa FNQld
Posts: 1,091
Hi Tony,

Is there anything on the webcam to say what brand or model it is?

Also can you post a pick of it as that may help some of the more experienced guys solve the problem.

Another point ( AS i Have had same problem with light) If you are not dead centre aligned a bright object EG the moon or jupiter they throw enough light off ,you think they are there but they are actually outside the field of view.

Just a suggestion as it has happened to me,LOL

Hope this helps in some way.
Cheers,
Duncan
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 28-02-2010, 09:31 PM
that_guy's Avatar
that_guy (Tony)
Local Korean Millennial

that_guy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 1,972
I have the pics of the webcam with the film canister glued to it and the brand as well, if you can't see it, it says leb pro eca. I think it's a korean brand cos I got it from there.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (IMG_4350.JPG)
178.8 KB17 views
Click for full-size image (IMG_4354.JPG)
144.8 KB19 views
Click for full-size image (IMG_4356.JPG)
145.8 KB20 views
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-03-2010, 07:40 AM
paddy510's Avatar
paddy510
Registered User

paddy510 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SA 5710
Posts: 5
g'day,

did you remove the lens from the webcam?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-03-2010, 06:17 PM
that_guy's Avatar
that_guy (Tony)
Local Korean Millennial

that_guy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 1,972
how do I remove it?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-03-2010, 06:25 PM
duncan's Avatar
duncan
Duncan

duncan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Weipa FNQld
Posts: 1,091
I see the lens is still in the webcam. It may just unscrew all the way from the front. Other than that the webcam is pulled apart, and the lens taken out from the inside.
You wont be able to reach focus with the lens in place, the telescope becomes your lens.
Hope this helps you.
Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-03-2010, 06:36 PM
that_guy's Avatar
that_guy (Tony)
Local Korean Millennial

that_guy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 1,972
I do I exactly tear it out??
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-03-2010, 06:41 PM
duncan's Avatar
duncan
Duncan

duncan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Weipa FNQld
Posts: 1,091
NOOOOOOOOO!!!!!

The webcam should split apart, either by undoing screws, or it may just have plastic pressure clips. If no screws then try prising apart along its joint line,that is where the two halves meet.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-03-2010, 08:05 PM
paddy510's Avatar
paddy510
Registered User

paddy510 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SA 5710
Posts: 5
looks to be about 4 screws around the bottom of it.
it should come apart fairly easy and the focus bit should unscrew once youve taken the casing off.

i left the case off of mine and just glued/taped the circuit board straight to the film can.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (03-03-10_0750.jpg)
175.8 KB6 views
Click for full-size image (03-03-10_0748.jpg)
100.0 KB10 views
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-03-2010, 09:48 PM
that_guy's Avatar
that_guy (Tony)
Local Korean Millennial

that_guy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 1,972
I stripped it bare with a precision screwdriver, and glued the film canister to it. Here are the pics. And yes I did take out the lense. .
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (IMG_4361.JPG)
141.3 KB10 views
Click for full-size image (IMG_4362.JPG)
140.9 KB11 views
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-03-2010, 09:55 PM
that_guy's Avatar
that_guy (Tony)
Local Korean Millennial

that_guy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 1,972
didnt take it out to test it cos of the weather...
When will this night mare end?!

Clear skies
Tony
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 02:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement