Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-01-2006, 06:35 PM
cjmarsh81

Cool What Telescope?

Howdy all.

I am new to Astronomy. I have never used an astronomical telescope before. I would like to get into the hobby as it really interests me.

My question is which telescope to get. I have read reviews on the internet to get a dobsonian as a first telescope and move up from there. I would prefer to go straight out and buy a skywatcher 200mm telescope with the appropriate lenses and filters.

Starting out I would like to view the moon and planets and progress later to stars/nebulae etc.

What lenses do I need? For you regulars out there what do you use? Reflector/Refractor/cassegrain? What will give me the best performance for the price. I am looking at spending around $1500 on a telescope/accessories. What do you suggest?

All help will be appreciated!
Old 06-01-2006, 06:41 PM
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

Look out cjmarsh. you are about to be inundated by the dobbing fraternity. So being an EQer with SCT and refractors I'll get in first. Get a dob. For $1500 you will pick up a great buy of either a 10" or 12" GS Dob and have lots of room left for good quality eyepieces. If you go the 10" at around $700 you can get the really really really good eyepieces, but if you get the 12" you only get the really really good eyepieces.

JM2CW but what do I know I take pictures, so the above is sort of a summary of the advice you are about to receive.
Old 06-01-2006, 06:45 PM
mickoking
Vagabond

DOBS ROOL, seriously 200-250mm Dob is an ideal scope for not only a newby but also a seasoned observer. you can't go wrong.
Old 06-01-2006, 07:00 PM
ving (David)
~Dust bunny breeder~

a 200m saxon dob is a good start
you'll see heaps with it. for $1500 you can get more aperture tho
Old 06-01-2006, 07:03 PM
RAJAH235
A very 'Senior' member.

Hi cj. &