Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 28-10-2008, 05:01 PM
Mike Gandy

Astroimaging

Hi all
Please bear with me as this is my first attempt at this.
I am having trouble with my astroimaging setup, I have a 200mm reflector, with an imagingsource colour camera. I have managed some lunar and planetary shots but when I add the 5X powermate I can't seem to focus properly and I seem to get enlarged blobs which I assume are magnified dust particles on the lens, if anyone could give me some advise I would be most grateful.

Regards
Mike.
Old 28-10-2008, 05:05 PM
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

Hi Mike

With the lunar and planetary shots that did work out ok, did you use a barlow then? Can you post the results?

If there's dust on the chip, it'll appear as the same size in the image whether you use a 2x or a 5x barlow.

Can you post an image of what the results with the 5x look like? What are you trying to image? Have you tried it in daylight to ensure it can reach focus?

btw to IceInSpace!
Old 28-10-2008, 09:42 PM
Mike Gandy

Hi Mike thanks for your prompt reply, I only use a barlo for lunar shots, I have never had much luck with a barlo and planetary images. I have never been happy with the 5X powermate and assumed I was just pushing the equipment to far.I will take some terrestial shots on the weekend and post the results.
Regards
Mike.
Old 29-10-2008, 12:05 AM
AlexN
Widefield wuss

I successfully used a 5x powermate with a 200mm newtonian, however it can be tricky to get the exposure right...

with the 5x it can be a nightmare to focus... Do you have a DBK or a DFK color camera? the DBK does not have a built in UV/IR filter. Jupiter bleeds IR light all over the place. I found when I bought a UV/IR filter, my ability to reach accurate focus quickly was greatly improved...