ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON New Moon
0.2%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
6:20 pm
Perth
3:20 pm
Auckland*
8:20 pm
New York*
3:20 am
Paris*
9:20 am
GMT
7:20 am




  #1  
Old 21-03-2017, 09:06 AM
chris1964's Avatar
chris1964 (Chris)
Registered User

chris1964 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 46
Which scope to buy

I have enough money to buy either a CPC 800 Deluxe HD or CPC 1100 XLT. The question is do I sacrifice 3 inches of aperture for a better quality optical system?
I will be using the scope mainly for observation but also some solar system imaging.
Any advice would be appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-03-2017, 09:51 AM
casstony
Registered User

casstony is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Warragul, Vic
Posts: 3,284
The biggest differences between your two choices are:

- much brighter views of deep space objects in the 11"

- 65 pounds fork/ota weight of the 11" vs 42 pounds for the 8"

- smaller OTA size and vents in the 8" allow better cooling and stability for high power views of planets (can add tempest cooling fans).

The outer part of the field of view is much better in the 8" due to the built in field flattener but that's a less important issue than the first three I think.

Another option would be to buy the C11 from the classifieds and put it on an equatorial mount - then you could use more than one OTA. Buying second hand means you don't lose a fortune at resale if you change your mind.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-03-2017, 10:26 AM
dannat's Avatar
dannat (Daniel)
daniel

dannat is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Macedon shire, Australia
Posts: 3,317
are you moving it around much?, C11 starts to get into the heavy territory whereas a C8 is easily manageable in comparison
permanent -c11
portable C8

i agree with tony the C11 in the classifieds is a steal
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-03-2017, 06:57 PM
chris1964's Avatar
chris1964 (Chris)
Registered User

chris1964 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 46
Thanks for the advice. I'll take a look at the C11 in classifieds
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-04-2017, 09:17 AM
serimral (Paul Scowen)
Registered User

serimral is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Hobart
Posts: 6
Hi Chris,

I just purchased a Meade LX90-ACF 10 Inch f/10 with UHTC to replace my 12 inch dob. This was under advice as I had intended to purchase a 16 inch goto dob.
I also want to look at the sun and was told the Meade was a better option for flexibility in terms of what I wanted to do: planets, astrophotography, look at sun.
It is now in transit and I am nervous that I have made the wrong choice.
I would have loved to see what would have been visible through a 16 inch dob but I deferred to people in the know.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-2017, 10:47 AM
chris1964's Avatar
chris1964 (Chris)
Registered User

chris1964 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 46
Which scope to buy

I think you'll be happy with your choice. It's a nice scope and will give you the option for dso imaging with a wedge if you decide to go that way. Get yourself a webcam for planetary imaging and a dslr for deep space at prime focus.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 05:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement