Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Equipment Discussions
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 24-08-2014, 04:43 PM
vonm (Vaughn)

help with old 8" dobsonian

hi guys,

So I just picked up an old 8" dobsonian for $100 today. I've never even looked through a telescope before, so a complete newbie at this.

From what I can tell, it's all intact, except there are no eye pieces. Primary mirror and tube itself looks a bit dusty, which I suppose I can give a clean. Components are mounted on Parks branded mount, which apparently is a good brand. There's also some sort of laser pointer scope.

So my question is, where to from here? Can I just buy any eye pieces, put it in and start looking. What would you recommend? What other accessories do I need? Finally, was it a good buy at $100?

Thanks,

Vonm
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (telescope.jpg)
21.8 KB82 views
Click for full-size image (telescope2.jpg)
70.5 KB71 views
Click for full-size image (telescope3.jpg)
78.6 KB72 views
Old 24-08-2014, 05:14 PM
dannat (Daniel)
daniel

a steal at 100 provided the mirror is ok
- you could prob start with some cheap ep's from bintel , or advertise a wanted ad here for some starter ep's
- does the focuser have its 1.25" adapter?
Old 24-08-2014, 05:18 PM
GraemeT (Graeme)
Learning fast

Welcome to IIS Vaughn
I'm not familiar with Parks scopes but it's hard to go wrong with $100. Yes, just grab a couple of eyepieces, 1.25" plossls will do the trick, there should be some advertised in the IIS classifieds, and start viewing. THEN, ask as many questions as come to mind. You shouldn't need to pay more than $30 each for a 10 and a 20mm,and start with easy targets like the moon. It's new moon on tuesday so the moon will be a thin crescent and easy to see without a moon filter. ENJOY!!!
Old 24-08-2014, 05:37 PM
raymo

From what I can see, it was a good buy. A couple of budget eyepieces to