Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-03-2015, 03:49 PM
Chris09 (Chris)

Amateur astronomer looking to buy a new telescope. Help required.

I've been using an old (very old) tasco 60mm refractor for the last 6 months and I'm looking to upgrade. Totally addicted to astronomy and the images that my current telescope is producing just isn't satisfying anymore.

I've done plenty of research of various telescopes and been into a store to speak with an expert and it just seems like the more I learn the more confused I become! I thought I wanted a cassegrain 127mm but now I've learnt that for photography I might be better off getting a reflector (and in fact the mount makes a huge difference too!)

I basically want to be able to view objects in the solar system with clarity, and also be able to see galaxies/nebula too. I plan on using photography too, so hook it up to my computer somehow (SLR or CCD?)

Any advice would be appreciated.
Old 03-03-2015, 04:50 PM
chuckywiz (Ben)

Hey mate,

i went down the path of not enough research and ended up unhappy with my purchase. I originally bought a 10 inch dobsonian. Great telescope but then decided i wanted to do astrophotography. so i then bought a Neq6pro mount and orion awesome autoguider. This is a pretty good setup although extremely heavy and with my poor old back trying to get the scope on the mount etc was killing my back.

I now sill use the NEQ6pro mount and have a skywatcher ED80 with the orion autouider on top. Its so much easier to hande and i find i get the gear out way more often even on work nights.

Recently ive imaged galaxies from my front lawn with street lights i the way etc. so i know its a good setup. but definitely things to consider are weight and portability.

one last note dont buy a nikon Dslr.. they are great cameras but the software support on canons is way better.

Ben
Old 03-03-2015, 06:37 PM
raymo