#1  
Old 15-10-2006, 12:39 PM
RB's Avatar
RB (Andrew)
Moderator

RB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21,995
Help - Error 99 on 20Da !

Does anyone know what an error 99 means/caused by on the Canon DSLR's?
It's locking up during long exposures.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-10-2006, 12:43 PM
acropolite's Avatar
acropolite (Phil)
Registered User

acropolite is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Launceston Tasmania
Posts: 8,985
Error 99 is a generic message used to indicate a variety of problems, but mostly difficulty in communicating with lenses. Try taking the lens off and if necessary gently cleaning the contacts with some IPA and you may also need to remove the battery for a few minutes to reset. I've only seen that error once on my 20D and that was immediately after a lens change. Reseating the lens, battery out, wait and back in corrected the problem in my case.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-10-2006, 12:45 PM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
Could be a number of problems Andrew.

Check out here
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-10-2006, 12:45 PM
avandonk's Avatar
avandonk
avandonk

avandonk is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4,786
If you have the camera on a lens clean the contacts on the camera and lens. You cannot use a teleconverter without a lens without electrically insulating the contacts.
The other reason can be a third party lens with an incompatible chip.

Bert
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-10-2006, 12:48 PM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
There is of course a permanent simple solution Andrew. 20D a, Andrew. a as in Astronomy. Astronomy-telescope Only use it as intended and you should never have a problem again.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-10-2006, 01:31 PM
mattweather
Registered User

mattweather is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ballina, Australia
Posts: 156
error error error error error stop it!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-10-2006, 09:20 PM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 10,813
I have read about this problem, but cant find the link at the moment, but as i recall it is definitly the lens combination, and is also mainly sigma lenses, so i'm told.

Leon
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15-10-2006, 11:46 PM
RB's Avatar
RB (Andrew)
Moderator

RB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21,995
Thanks for the advice guys.
I'll give the contacts a clean.
It happend while in the middle of a run of long exposures. Everything was going fine, doing my normal 90 sec subs then suddenly this error appeared.
It was at prime focus on the refractor, that's what was so strange and it was working fine for at least half an hour prior to this. I'll have a go cleaning with IPA.
Bert I'm still keen to give the teleconverter a go, have you tried this by any chance?

LOL Paul, yes I get the message.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 04:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement