Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Astrophotography
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 31-03-2010, 03:33 PM
mldee (Mike)
Photon sorter

Should I Buy PS and if so, which version?

I'm thinking about venturing into the uncharted waters of using Photoshop, as it appears to be an eventual skillset needed anyway. Presently, my limited astro fiddling has been in freeware programs, mainly Gimp and Paintshop Pro v7. I use Registax 5 and the latest Nebulosity. Perhaps this bunch may be sufficient for my initial QHY8 and Ha adventures?

The easy Nebs and DSO's are my main targets.

How old a PS version is useable for the normal Astro functions and are there any gotcha's, version plugins etc, I should look out for? I'll probably intitially take a closer look at availability on Ebay.

As a relative beginner, I have zero knowledge of the more sophisticated PS CS2/3/4 version functions.

All advice welcome
Old 31-03-2010, 03:40 PM
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

Quote:
Originally Posted by mldee View Post
I'm thinking about venturing into the uncharted waters of using Photoshop, as it appears to be an eventual skillset needed anyway. Presently, my limited astro fiddling has been in freeware programs, mainly Gimp and Paintshop Pro v7. I use Registax 5 and the latest Nebulosity. Perhaps this bunch may be sufficient for my initial QHY8 and Ha adventures?

The easy Nebs and DSO's are my main targets.

How old a PS version is useable for the normal Astro functions and are there any gotcha's, version plugins etc, I should look out for? I'll probably intitially take a closer look at availability on Ebay.

As a relative beginner, I have zero knowledge of the more sophisticated PS CS2/3/4 version functions.

All advice welcome