ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON New Moon
0%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
2:15 pm
Perth
11:15 am
Auckland*
4:15 pm
New York
10:15 pm
Paris
4:15 am
GMT
3:15 am




  #1  
Old 17-11-2017, 06:32 PM
Wilso (Darren)
Registered User

Wilso is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Gawler
Posts: 65
Stellarvue Optimus eyepiece

Hi all,

Have been looking at Stellarvue's Optimus eyepiece 4.7mm 110deg for planetary observing.
Good eye relief 15mm.

A lot cheaper than televue ethos but reviews I have read seem to be just as good ?
Anyone have or used these type of eyepieces and or could give any input would be much appreciated.

Need a wider view than my Tak Le 5 mm offers due to manual tracking.

Cheers
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (image.jpg)
34.0 KB47 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-11-2017, 10:45 PM
Wavytone
Fringe Lunatic

Wavytone is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Killara, Sydney
Posts: 2,560
It will look like you've shoved a coke bottle into your focuser. Hope it can take the load !

Another alternative I'd suggest is the Vixen SSW 5mm, 83 degrees. There are also 3.5, 7, 10 and 14mm versions; I have the 7, 10 and 14 and all are very comfortable, very sharp with 20mm eye-relief.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-11-2017, 08:27 AM
Atmos's Avatar
Atmos (Colin)
Ultimate Noob

Atmos is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wavytone View Post
It will look like you've shoved a coke bottle into your focuser.
Isnít that why he observe in the dark?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-11-2017, 12:14 PM
LewisM's Avatar
LewisM
Xenomorph

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 6,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atmos View Post
Isnít that why he observe in the dark?

All the ugly things are best done in the dark
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-12-2017, 08:01 PM
Wilso (Darren)
Registered User

Wilso is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Gawler
Posts: 65
Ok ok ... so I bought the coke bottle!

Couldn't help myself, my early Christmas present.

Definitely a clone of the televue ethos 4.7mm eyepiece (they should have had a patent on that) even came in the same type black box. Saved about 35% on the price of a new ethos, even with their US 17% off sale.
Fit and finish as good as any televue eyepiece I have. Inside came with a sealed bag with a Stellarvue QA sticker and end caps, they look to be rubber type instead of plastic.
Most impressed so far. The proof in the pudding will see how it performs in my tsa f8 and Fsq f5.3 over the Christmas break.

Cheers
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (image.jpg)
63.0 KB14 views

Last edited by Wilso; 04-12-2017 at 09:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 01:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement