Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 13-11-2016, 09:48 PM
m11 (Mel)

Recommended eaa camera

Hi All,

Looking into electronic assisted astronomy to add another dimension to my viewing experience. I am planning to use it with:

Orion xx16g
Celestron se 6inch
Stellarvue sv90

In researching alot people like the zwo cameras, in particular the zwo asi224mc with Sharpcap or astrolive? I was planning to get the zwo asi 1600mc. Wanted to see if you guys would recommend either camera?
I am a complete newbie to ccd cameras.
Also is there an easy way to work out what backf ocus is required?

Thanks everyone.
M11
Old 14-11-2016, 07:24 AM
Derek Klepp

If you mean Video astronomy then you should check out my astroshop for a start.
Old 14-11-2016, 10:12 AM
ChrisV (Chris)

Mel

EAA, video astronomy, or whatever we call it needs its own section, or sub-section. There's a lot to discuss and it just gets lost in the single thread we currently have (the sticky currently in the beginner's equipment section). The first issue is that you need GOTO/tracking otherwise it will be nothing more than frustrating – and an EQ mount is better unless you have a fast scope and sensitive camera.

The camera depends on whether you want to view just on a TV/monitor or on a computer; whether you want DSOs or planetary. TV is thought by some to be the easiest and requires a camera with video output. There's a few around from Revolution Imagers, the G-star etc.

Sounds like you have a USB camera in mind. The advantage of a computer is that you can stack images (see some examples in the sticky). BUT - you can run the video cameras into a computer but the AD converters have low resolution.
- Some cameras have excellent dedicated software = Infinity and the lodestar/ultrastar (>$1000). These are CCD.